Not buy the book? – not a chance

Why is it that I can never go to a book store without leaving with a new pile of books?

Hello my friends

You might think this is a good thing, after all after the advice to get your butt in the chair if you want to write, the second most repeated bit of advice is to read, read, read. Am I right? A good writer is a good reader.

And yet, as I look at the piles and piles of unread books I have in my house, I think even if I read one a day it would take me years to get through them. I have too many books.

And yet I buy more.

I imagine it is the same sort of obsession as some women have for shoes (of which I have about 4 working pairs) you never know when you are going to need that little red strappy number.

I justify my obsession by reminding myself that you never know when you might need to reference a memoir by a Mormon living in New York City ( The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance).

Or that because I own so many of them, I should read the newest Young Adult stories on the market (Matched, Delirium – but NOT Twilight) so that I can talk fluently with my kids and know what kinds of social pressures they might be under.

The whole household has gone on a gluten free diet, surely I need to possess the information and recipe books needed for that. What would happen if dinner time rolled around and I was clueless as to what to feed my family?

And lastly, what if I find myself alone, the kids are out of the house, my work is caught up, the weather is warm enough to take a stroll into a sunny field. Who then would keep me company if no one else came along? Thank god for the book always carried in my bag.

Books are knowledge, company, and friends. As far as obsessions and drugs of choice go, I suppose I could do worse. But still, why is it that even with the leaning towers of unread tomes I currently have, the compulsion is so constantly strong to own more and more and more?


Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons. Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens).

8 thoughts on “Not buy the book? – not a chance

  1. I love the photo of the book store! Books are my life! Come over to my blog and take the what is the meaning behind your name quiz, thanks. ♥ Jackie

    • Hey Jackie,

      I’ve seen you in a few comments on our blog, welcome. I did go over to your blog, nice collection of resources (and of course anyone who can’t say no to a book, pen, or notebook is my kinda pal).


  2. My blog:

    Yay, I’m not the only book addict!!!! I cannot imagine my life without a book (or two) in my bag, next to the bed, or by the couch. They are everywhere in my house, car, at school, and I even found one under a saddle in the horse trailer. Books are taking over, yet I continue to purchase more (placed an order via Amazon yesterday!!!!)

    My parents instilled a love for reading from an early age. I am so grateful for this gift that I continue to treasure today. As a teacher and life-long learner, I will end with this quote from an anonymous teacher….

    “If you can read this, thank a teacher.”

    Happy blogging! :>)

  3. Wendy (and all my fellow commenters!) – happy to be amidst other book addicts. :)

    I had to laugh when you mentioned your pathetic shoe collection. The situation is the same over here – I’ve got books piled onto shelves, tables, and night stands … literally cascading onto the floors … and only four pairs of presentable shoes.

    Personally, if I’m going to be judged by my belongings, I’d rather the judgment be made on my books than my accessories. Long live the over-stocked home library!

  4. I know what you mean. I cannot leave a bookstore without a book or several; worse (or maybe better?), I can stay there for hours looking.

    • RFW,

      I know. It’s kind of like the Sorcerer’s Apprentice trying to hold the tide back with a bucket. Why even try? Just go with the flow.


Leave a Reply

