Friday Fun – Who’s your audience?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, writing-related question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Who’s your audience? Who do you write for?

Jamie Lee Wallace: I write for so many audiences – that’s what makes my work so much fun. Never a dull moment, though occasionally a moment or two of schizophrenia. For my “day job,” I write both blogs (for moms, more moms, marketers, other writers (here!), and people who are curious about life) and also marketing content for my Suddenly Marketing clients. In my work with those folks, I might be writing for software developers, indie musicians, or moms who want to learn more about natural nutrition. In addition to those venues, I write a few pieces for lifestyle magazines whose audiences are mostly supporters or the arts. For my yet-to-be-written novels, my audience is older grade schoolers, young adults, and young-at-heart grown-ups who enjoy urban fantasy. Finally, in my personal journals, my audience is me … and maybe someday my daughter.

Lisa Jackson writerLisa Jackson: I write for various audiences. I do a lot of local (NH) and regional (New England) writing so focus on attracting the attention of residents and people who can visit. My Reviews and Interviews blog is for readers of all genres. My business blog focuses on words and is focused on writers and businesses needing writers. Each day has a different topic – writing exercises, vocabulary, goal-related topics, writing as a business, quotes/books, and editing and writing tips (grammar, spelling, etc.). When writing for businesses, my audience is the client’s prospective customer. With my fiction, I have different audiences since I write in different genres. I’ve been published in mystery, horror, romance, young adult, and poetry. I’m striving to break into the personal essay market.

Wendy Thomas: depends on what I’m writing. Newspaper articles are for a general audience. Many of my magazine articles are for women/parents. Blog posts are all over the place, dependent again on the blog. Business writing?  – not my audience at all but theirs. I suppose the big question for me here is who is the audience for the book I’m writing?  Although I’d like to say that men will read my book (and some may) I see the primary audience as one who is  female and in a “parenting” role (could include pet owners). Oh to be sure, there are several secondary audiences (those who are interested in having backyard chickens, for example) but the audience to which I am primarily addressing my work is one that is interested in life lessons and learning from life’s experiences.

Julie Hennrikus: In this brave new world audience can be so targeted, but at the same time we all want the widest possible readership. I write mysteries. But as many of you know, there are so many subgenres that audience is very tricky. I would classify mine as “cozies” bordering on traditional, but I don’t want to limit the potential audience. My blogging has three audiences: this one, my own (though that is the blog least likely to be updated) and the StageSource blog, where I write to the theater audience (artist, organizations and theater lovers). Will those audiences translate to mystery readers? Maybe.

One thought on “Friday Fun – Who’s your audience?

  1. I was recently hired as a staff writer for a home improvement website, so I’m writing articles geared toward the average homeowner, DIYer. For years I’ve written plenty of personal essays, but not sure whether I’ll ever go down the publishing track with those. IIf I did, they run the gamut so I assume my audience will vary as much as the topics. The books I’m working on fall into the mixed category of SF/fantasy/historical historical suspense- DaVinci code mixed with science and history and a tiny bit of paranormal. (Anything goes in that category!). Actually, I might need some help categorizing it at some point but I’m the beginning stages so I’ll have to wait and see how it morphs and where my characters take me (they’re still talking and taking their sweet time telling me their story in fits and bursts). I write poetry occasionally – mostly kid stuff in a Shel Silverstein style for kids of all ages with a funny bone they want tickled. I like to dabble, so I don’t think I’ll ever want to write in only ONE category. From what I see, most writers feel this way. That is the beauty of it – we have an audience everywhere we go with our writing (minus the bad writing of course!).

Leave a Reply

