Making Your Writng Dreams Come True

What’s your dream as a writer? Is it to see your name on a book in the bookstore? Is it to see your byline in the New York Times or the New Yorker?  Is it to see a child reading your book and laughing?

When you think about that dream—the one you really, really want—how does it feel?

When you think about becoming a best-selling author, do you feel good? Happy, excited? Or do you feel defeated or diminished?

When you find out a friend just had something published and you think: That’ll be me someday–How does that feel?

I could be wrong, but I believe that if you feel lousy when you think about your big dream, it’s much less likely to come true.

How can you feel good when you think that big dream is so far out of your reach?

Start by making a list.

Make a list of 10 things you want in your life. Could be big or small. Anything you want

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

My list always starts with “a good cup of coffee.” Now, of the 10 things on that list, how many of them do you already have?

None? One? More?

Okay, let’s try this list again.

Make a list of 10 things you want in your life that you already have.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

7.

8.

9.

10.

My list always starts with “a good cup of coffee.”

  1. I want a good cup of coffee. Got it! Yes, feels good.
  2. I want my son Joey. Got him! Yes, feels good.
  3. I want to be able to spend time writing. Got it! Yes, feels good.

You get the idea. When we want from a place of abundance, that place of already having what we want, it creates an entirely different feeling than wanting from a place of scarcity. Wanting something you don’t think you can have (or don’t deserve) feels bad, and it’s my opinion that wanting from that place doesn’t get us very far.

See your prayer already answered. See your dream fulfilled. Believe it will come true.

That’s not an easy task. So practice.

Start by wanting what you already have, then practice wanting things you’re pretty sure you can get. This will give you a feeling of satisfaction or contentment, which will help you get into the mindset of knowing that, whatever your heart truly desires, you can have in your life.

With practice, you can get to a place where you think: I want to be a best selling author, and it feels great—because a part of you knows it’s going to happen—it’s a done deal. When you feel good about becoming a best selling author (or whatever your dream is) you will take more action, better action, and your results, inevitably, will be to get what you want.

Try it, and let me know what happens.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, is currently a full-time mother, part-time life coach. She is a Master Certified Life Coach, trained by Martha Beck, among others. She is passionate about her son, her writing and using her mind to create a wonderful present moment.  Find her life coaching blog at http://www.dianemackinnon.com/blog.

34 thoughts on “Making Your Writng Dreams Come True

  1. This is a good way to do get more focused on different aspects of your life – you can make a specific list for various things – such as your marriage, your job, your writing, your health, etc.
    Like. Alot. I put it on my to-do list for this weekend as an exercise. Thanks Diane!

    • Hi stevenwwatkins,
      Isn’t it fun to imagine that from a place of abundance? My dream is to see someone reading one of my books on a plane. Makes me smile just to think of it.

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. Pingback: Living Large « Cindy's Blog

  3. A good article. A spiritualist once told me that I’m scared of success which is why I think ‘small’. I try not to think of the ‘end’ but instead just take one writing day at a time. It is only when something I’ve written is praised that it is then I tell myself ‘well maybe I’ve got something here’. What I want is for my writing to improve daily, to be able to find words that express exactly and precisely what I mean.

    • Hi plaintain1,
      Thanks for your comments. I agree, we have to write and just hope to improve our writing hour by hour–showing it to others is something that happens late in the process. Sounds like you are achieving your writing goals–feels good, right?

      Keep writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  4. My writing dream is to produce children’s books that will make them happy and help them to see the world as a beautiful, rich and benevolent home for all living things.
    I also want to write my blog as a way of expressing the real me. I don’t feel able to speak my truth and be listened to. But I can write it and I feel the universe responds, and, thankfullly a few kind souls who read my blog.

    • Hi heavenhappens,
      Thanks for your comments. Can you see your children’s books? Imagine holding them and notice how that feels. Where in your life do you feel the same way now? Get more of THAT and I’m convinced it will help you get your children’s books into the world. And your blog! Good for you for putting your words out there!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. VERY Good Article! Thank you! With over 20 years of leadership training, I’ve seen the good and the bad..saying one thing, doing another. I’d like to write a book that focuses on True leadership, not just the sound good for the organization thing or being politically correct… but from the inside out.

    • Hi Lori,
      Your book idea sounds great! As I mentioned above in another comment, can you see the book already finished and in the world? If you can imagine it vividly, using all your senses, it will evoke a feeling. Find places in your life where you currently feel that same way, and spend more time there. It will help your dream come true. And, of course, you need to sit your butt in the chair and write! 🙂

      Warmly,
      Diane

  6. Great article and comments. I’m new to blogging, but ‘old’ to writing and dreaming. Unfortunately, I spent too many years thinking it wasn’t purposeful enough and existed in a rut of mediocrity. Now, I have wings, an outlet and writing-comrades-in-arms. Let the dreams begin anew!

    • Hi Laurie,
      Thanks for your comments and thanks for reading. No time like the present! Congratulations on starting your blog. It takes a lot of courage to put your words out there. Good luck with your dreams! Sounds like you are on your way to making them come true!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  7. I think the holy grail of writing is to unspool the mind into eloquent sentences. If you have a few of those, you have some change to clink in your brain, from your own mint, original coin; not for purchasing with, just for collecting. Useless and pretty, like philately.

    That’s where the satisfaction comes from; the self’s esteem is sown into the line and then no-one can change that, and anyone seeing it is a bonus, since you wrote it for yourself, first and foremost.

    Also, the relationships in your life, in whatever ways they are fraught, or where you feel you have not been able to make yourself known to another person, either because you don’t communicate well or confidently enough, or the other person might not want to be known to the extent you would like to attempt to make yourself known to them – those limitations in real-life interaction: well, arranging sentences in different ways gives you a chance to express that, if you can.

    You don’t get to see the acceptance of yourself in the flashing recogition of another pair of eyes, true; but you do get to see it on the page. It’s unquestionably an inferior substitute, but it’s better than nothing. It’s some kind of vindication of what you wanted to express to others, and it then allows you to put it behind you and move on, in peace with others. And you haven’t bothered anyone. It has been between yourself and yourself, on a page.

    It offers a bit of mental independence.

  8. You interest me when you say that,begin with what you have and want what you have.It is scientifically true to cherish what one has but it is wonderfully pertinent to scramble for what you do not have that will enabler you to love what you have,for instance I have the skills to write but I do not have the Laptop to use in my job of writing A laptop is definitely my 1 priority need.lf I may decrease the cost I incur in an Internet cafe.

    • hi njaleruma,
      Thanks for reading. As I said in my post, try to see your prayer already answered and then let go of the how. Rather than say, “I need a laptop,” try something like “I need to be able to write and keep to my budget,” imagine yourself doing this as vividly as possible, then let go of how it’s going to happen. Then practice wanting things you already have. Let me know how it goes!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • It is not ease to find a progress without the help of others.In fact human beings largely depend on each other.However,when it comes to the question of giving people find excuses in order to evade the natural phenomenon of sharing with others what they have.” sharing is one way of saying I love you” my mentor in writing told me.But people do not give without conditions set.Wanting things you already have in my dialect simply means Ekintu kyolina lwaaki okigaya.It means however,nothing if what you possess does not take you to the next level! Thank you a lot for finding time to write to me,anyway.

Leave a Reply

