Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

photo: M. Shafer

photo: M. Shafer

Deborah Lee Luskin: This week, I wrote and recorded two commentaries for broadcast later this month on Vermont Public Radio, and I’ve been reading Slow Democracy: Rediscovering Community, by Susan Clark and Woden Teachout, for an opinion column for The Commons, the local, independent newspaper. I continued research for Ellen, my novel in progress. Here are links to recent articles, The High Cost of Fat, and Overfilling the Gas Tank. Along with my post here on How Losing Weight and Writing are Similar, readers can see how I’ve been able to write differently on a single subject to make different points to different audiences.

Lisa J Jackson writerLisa J. Jackson: A lot of business writing this week and work on my mystery novel in progress.

I read Brett Battle’s “No Return,” a standalone novel instead of part of his Quinn series – very fast-paced. I enjoyed it a lot. I’m about an hour away from finishing up  Wm. Paul Young’s “The Shack.” Had heard a lot of great talk about this book and it’s been in my TBR pile for quite a while. I like it and really need to see how it ends.

.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: It’s been a crazy, busy week and it feels like all my personal stars have been out of alignment. I’ve had precious little time for non-work writing or reading for pleasure, but I’m hopeful that the weekend will hold a few pockets of bookish time. Until then …

What I’ve been writing:

spring bird thumbnailOf hope and spring and feathered things – My most recent local column, inspired by early morning birdsong and Emily Dickenson’s famous quote. The changing of the season always makes me a bit wistful. Each year, the pageantry of Mother Nature’s metamorphoses seems to pass more quickly. The long procession of springs and winters, summers and falls begin to blend into each other so that spring morns of my own childhood seem to exist in the shadow of this year’s winter. It is both disquieting and comforting.

What I’ve been reading:

Precious little.

There is always time for a few blog posts though:

Susan Nye:
What I’m Writing:
With Saint Patrick’s Day on Sunday, this week I was inspired to write about storytelling on my blog Around the Table. In honor of the Irish, this week’s recipe was Irish Soda Bread. I had a lovely time on Thursday morning, baking the bread and sharing stories with my mother and her buddies at the nursing home.

Before I went off to bake, I put together a menu with links to the recipes for a Saint Paddy’s Day feast. You won’t find corn beef and cabbage but Guinness Braised Lamb Shanks, Soda Bread and Blueberry Crisp.

What I’m reading:
I’m just about to jump into The Paris Wife by Paula McLain. My weekend guilty pleasure is the Friday real estate section of the Wall Street Journal. Otherwise known as Mansion.

One thought on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. Just finished yesterday: Jodi Picoult’s newst novel – The Storyteller.
    In Progress: Omnivore’s Dilemma by M. Pollan and Bartimaeus Trilogy (Book One), Ringworld by Niven and a few pages into Desperation by Stephen King.
    No more writing books for awhile.
    I will have to check out your links – thanks much ladies!

Leave a Reply

