Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: Time flies by so quickly! Another Saturday already? Well, okay. 🙂

What I’m writing: I put the final touches on a short mystery story and subbed it to an anthology on Tuesday. Why I waited until the last minute to submit it, baffles me since subs opened in January for this particular book. I hope to get better at submitting in general and submitting before the last minute going forward. Speaking of last minute submissions – I better get my sub in to my crit group!

What I’m reading: The user’s guide to my new DSLR. So many features and things to learn about this fabulous camera. It’s a Nikon D600 and will keep my happy for many years to come. I’ve been saving and planning to get a nice camera for years. A goal accomplished!

In other reading — Terry Whalin posts a lot of great information for writers through his Twitter account. He’s a former literary agent and is now an acquisitions editor and author, so knows what writers need to know about. A recent post by Toby Neal caught my attention, Women and the new entrepreneurship. She talks about what it’s like to be a small business owner. Her site is focused on writing, creativity, and Hawaii (where she lives). And while I’m on the topic of small business ownership – Intuit has a lot of great articles and resources on its Small Business Blog.

 

photo: M. Shafer

photo: M. Shafer

Deborah Lee Luskin: Great progress on Ellen, the novel; wrote and submitted a column on storytelling for the Commons; started a commentary on the prompt “Lost and Found” for the VPR Commentator’s Brunch on June 15; wrapped up the special project I’ve been doing for VPR and submitted my final invoice (fun!). I also set up three meetings to learn from others about starting a very local newsletter for my small town. Wednesday evening, I attended a lecture about William Wadsworth and Robert Frost given by Vermont’s Poet Laureate, Sydney Lea, and I’ve been  rereading Robert Frost ever since. I also sat down at the piano twice!

2 thoughts on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. So lame with my reading and writing this week. (Slacker!) Playing catchup with household things, but did manage to write a short essay inspired by a blog post I read recently that my 17 year old and I had discussion about (re: minimalism and discomfort). Finishing up “The Mermaid Chair” by Sue Monk Kidd and anxious to start a book by Louise Erdich – along with the non-fiction books “Wired for Story” by Lisa Cron and “The Storytelling Animal” by Jonathan Gottschall.

  2. I read The Storyteller by Jodi picoult this week inspiring me to think about my story with more creativity. I’ve written some on my blog and look forward to writing some snippets of ideas to expand on later when I get an available minute.

Leave a Reply

