Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson

What I’m writing:

I wrote and published my ‘highly recommended read’ review of A Tine to Live, A Tine to Die (see What I’m reading).

I wrote and submitted a dining article to the monthly NH ToDo Magazine, for the August magazine.

I’m continuing work on a YA novel that is in its infancy stages. One word at a time!

What I’m reading:

Tine to LiveI read A Tine to Live, A Tine to Die by Edith Maxwell. It’s a mystery cozy by a New England author I know, and it’s the first in a new series. It’s set in a fictional Massachusetts town near Gloucester and Newburyport and has a focus on organic gardening and CSAs.

I’ve started reading Andre Dubus III’s memoir Townie. And, wow, it’s powerful writing. Gritty and real, and local (NH and MA). Very hard to put down.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: Hello, fellow writers and readers! I hope you’ve had an enjoyable and productive week. Summer arrived ahead of schedule this week here in New England and we’re basking (or baking, as the case may be) in some heatwave-worthy temps. Thankfully this sultry blast of pre-season warmth (and humidity) will only last a few days, so we don’t have to suffer too long with fingers sticking to keyboards and so forth.

ANYway …

ooh2What I’m writing: I republished my recent newspaper column on my blog. This time, it’s about the joys of live music. I had the opportunity to attend an intimate orchestral performance and the experience inspired me to spin 700 words about how live music connects us in really unique and special ways.

I’ve also been working on a feature piece for my local paper which has been a fun experience, though I don’t know how anyone makes a living doing this. The time involved to collect resources, interview references, and put the thing together far outweighs the sad, little sum that most papers (local ones, anyway) can afford to pay their writers. Maybe one of my fellow bloggers here at Live to Write – Write to Live can fill me in on the realities of this kind of gig.

I didn’t manage to post over at my marketing blog this week (boo-hiss!) because I stayed up WAY too late working on the feature piece.

What I’m reading: Again, mostly just blogs, but there’s been some great stuff coming out of the blogosphere this week.  Oh – and if you’d like to get these in “real time,” follow me on Twitter: @suddenlyjamie

13 thoughts on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. Jamie, I am freelance writer for local magazines and newspapers, and I too wonder how anyone can make a living at it! While I enjoy the gig, there is a lot of time that goes into each piece and frankly, not a lot of pay that comes out of it. I’d have to write 7-10 articles a week to make only a modest income. Currently, I do about an article a month and I do it for the experience and the byline.

    • I’m with you, Jennifer. I do the column and features more for the experience and the byline than anything else. They give me a creative outlet that’s different from my marcom work, plus it’s fun to have a published voice in my small town community. (Though I find that I get much more “nervous” about publishing in my local paper than on my blog or other platforms that have larger audiences … something about seeing my “readers” in Real Life.)

      If any of your stuff is available online, feel free to share a link in the comments here. We’d love to know what other people in the L2W-W2L community are reading & writing this week, too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading | PASO A LA UTOPÍA

  3. I’m basically writing expressions of myself and helpful tips to people. I’m reading a book by a lifestyle coach that helps you with your problems through her stories of other people.

  4. Thanks for suggestions, really cool post. I am currently reading Star Trek Cold Equations by David Mack and This Book is Full Of Spiders by David Wong. I am also putting off re-working an article and generally putting off doing stuff..

Leave a Reply

