Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson

What I’m writing: Plugging away at my YA novel, feeling like I need to do some onsite research at the setting for the story — way up on the coast of northern Maine. It’ll be tough to do in the summer, I know, I know, but I think it’s called for. I need to recapture the essence of the place and tease all 5 senses to help with description. <grin>

What I’m reading:

Found a wonderful post with suggestion for how to stop letting our self-imposed writing goals & promises fall by the wayside. How to stop the excuses and go the distance.

Still reading the Andres Dubus III memoir, Townie. Have only been able to read it in spurts this past week. This weekend isn’t promising for reading time either, but I’ll try!

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: This week was massively busy and happily productive for me. It was one of those weeks where I looked back at everything I’d accomplished and thought, “Wow! I rocked it!” Of course, all my writing accomplishments fell squarely into the marcom (marketing communications) bucket rather than the fiction bucket, but I still did a little happy dance. I swear that Coffitivity helped me ace all my deadlines (along with my Gipsy Kings playlist on Pandora). Anyway – here’s a quick recap of my week in writing (and reading!):

What I’m writing: Three more pages for an architect’s website, two award show submissions (much like case studies) for a marketing company, a mini ebook on the topic of how brands can reach teens online, and a (winning) proposal for a new branding and website project.

What I’m reading: Again – mostly blogs, but that’s okay. I’m in a “make hay while the sun shines” mode and happy to be nose-to-grindstone for a couple of months if it means I can breathe a little easier and take some time to work on “my” projects later this summer. Meanwhile, here are my fave picks of the week for writing-related posts:

Happy writing & reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. What I am writing:
    I am an aspiring writer and have just finished the first course in Creative Writing for my BA in Humanities degree. I learnt about the craft of writing poetry, fiction and non- fiction and scored the best in my assignments on poetry and non-fiction. I decided to write my exam piece on a period of illness I experienced last year. My aim was for the reader to ‘be there’ with me in the hospital and have some emotional investment with the main character. Results come out on 2nd August so crossed fingers and all that. I’m sure I’m not alone in thinking many times over of more edits I could have done now the piece has been submitted.

    What I am reading: I was recently given a kindle as a birthday gift and whilst I will always appreciate the feel of physically holding a book and turning the page, I have enjoyed the versatility it brings. I am currently reading the complete Sherlock Holmes collection and in particular The Hound of the Baskervilles. I am thoroughly enjoying the change in the language style and learning new words too. The stories are as good now as when they were written.

    Enjoy the weekend everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

