Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading! 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: Hello, fellow writers! Happy weekend! This week has been another crazy one – kicking off work with a couple new clients, my daughter’s last day of third grade (what?!?), and gearing up for a little getaway. There’s always such a price to pay (before and after) for a freelancer trying to take a few days off … but, it’s always worth it!

Yes, this is THE baby bunny I rescued from the local tom cat.

Yes, this is THE baby bunny I rescued from the local tom cat.

What I’m Writing: It’s been another slow week for non-client writing, but I did republish my latest weekly column. The topic was local wildlife of the suburban kind. It’s pretty amazing how well our animal friends adapt to living in such close quarters with humans. In my own small town, I’ve had many close encounters of the furry kind without even having to venture into the woods.

The funny thing is that since I wrote that piece, I’ve had a couple more adventures with four-footed neighbors including chasing a chipmunk out of my kitchen and rescuing a baby bunny from a rather voracious (or at least vicious) neighborhood tom cat. Maybe the local, non-human population heard about how I sang their praises in my column and came by for a visit. Sadly, they obviously missed my previous column waxing poetic about my cats. (That chipmunk was surprised, I can tell you!)

What I’m Reading: The week’s chaotic schedule left little time for pleasure reading, but I did manage to squeak in a few blog posts. Here are my favorites from the week:

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: We made it to summer! I’m so excited! I spent all day last Sunday volunteering at a fun local event called Ribfest. The weather held out for the 3-day event and thousands of people had fun and tasty food.

The weather this weekend is even better to ring in summer. And Sunday I’m hoping to finish a sprint triathlon before the humidity (one drawback to summer) gets overbearing.

What I’m writing I had a couple of people ask me to review their blogs, so I wrote up my impressions. Quite a bit of business writing and a little more rewriting on my YA novel. The novel is definitely a work in progress that keeps morphing and changing every time I go to sleep. I try to go to bed thinking of other projects, but my main character, a young girl named Nikki, keeps popping into my dreams.

What I’m reading: Does a script count? I was involved behind-the-scenes and

Presenting an award

Presenting an award

during an awards event on Thursday and had to present an award. Luckily I was given a script and didn’t sweat about prepping. (That’s me at the lectern.) I can’t remember the last time I used a microphone. It was a fun event recognizing volunteers for the hours and years they have given to New Hampshire Granite State Ambassadors. I received my 5-year and 100-hour awards. I presented the Rookie award in my capacity as the Communications Director for the organization. Wearing many hats keeps a person very busy!

Other reading included local newspapers (uncommon for me, but for some reason they got in front of me so I read through them.)

 

One thought on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Leave a Reply

