Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

Welcome to this Saturday Edition of What We’re Writing and Reading.

We’re taking a little detour on the weekends now to share some of what we’re up to with our writing (when we’re not here) and what we’re into with our reading (around the web). We’ll also pull back the curtain a little to give you a behind-the-scenes look at what went into a piece.

We hope you enjoy this little diversion and encourage you to share your own posts and picks in the comments.

Happy writing! Happy reading!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: Good morning! Wow. I can’t believe another week has “zipappeared,” as we say in my family. How is it possible that we’re already nearing the end of July?!? I’m already feeling the tingly anticipation of the back-to-school season ( ahhh … new pens & notebooks), but I’m also trying to keep summer from slipping through my fingers as they fly across my keyboard, striving to keep up with client deadlines.

Still, despite the chaos and continued run of oppressive heat & humidity, I managed to get a few blog posts up and read a few blogs as well. I’m also reading another novel (hooray!), but will hold off on sharing it until I’ve turned the last page.

For now – here are my bloggy links. Enjoy & have a wonderful, writerly weekend! :)

What I’m Writing:

have to blog smOn the business side of my business blog, I published a post titled Should my small business blog? 10 alternatives to traditional blogging. This is a question I get asked quite frequently by friends and clients alike. As a writer geek, I didn’t immediately understand why anyone would be opposed to blogging, but it didn’t take me long to figure out that I’m weird that way. Most people do not love the idea of cranking out blog posts and some people are downright terrified at the prospect.

Though, as fellow writers, you may be intrigued by the idea of a traditional, text-driven blog, you may have concerns about how much of your “real” writing time it will consume. That’s a very valid concern. In addition to tracking my billable hours, I also track the hours I spend doing “business building” activities like blogging. It usually adds up to a few hours per week – hours I could spend writing on my own projects if I chose. It can be a tough battle.

So this post provides some alternatives to the usual blog. It’s not the definitive list, but I hope that it might get the wheels turning and give you some things to explore.

firefly jar smI also posted an “off-topic Friday” post over at my Suddenly Marketing blog. Originally published as a column in my local paper, this piece – No such thing as an endless summer – is a bit of a lament, but also (I hope) an inspired call to slow the hell down. As I mentioned above, the season is whipping past faster than a hummingbird  – *flash* and it’s gone, leaving just a vague impression of its jeweled presence.

As a writer, I find the speed with which the days pass me by particularly distressing. Writers try to capture time with words. When we write, we stop time – for just a moment. Our words, like amber, trap a scene or a conversation and preserve it for eternity. When my days begin to run into each other, my vision becomes so blurred that I cannot even pick out a moment to hold in my writer’s mind.

I hope that there is still time in this summer to stop the spinning and just sit back and contemplate.

What I’m Reading:

Here are my favorite writing-related blog posts of the week:

And my favorite quote of the week (from one of my favorite authors):

We have to continually be jumping off cliffs and developing our wings on the way down.

- Kurt Vonnegut

6 thoughts on “Saturday Edition – What We’re Writing and Reading

  1. I am so glad my Moodling post spoke to you, and to Cindy Lou as well. Thanks for linking to it here. I wanted to let you know that after I finished Mina, I picked up The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating, and am devouring it like the snail devours the mushrooms Bailey eventually gives it. I am encouraged once again that the type of writing that I do is maybe, possibly, publishable one day. I love your reading choices, and I look forward to this post every week. Thanks!

    • I’m so pleased that you enjoyed Mina and are now “devouring” The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating. I love knowing someone else who is appreciating these quirky books the way I did. :)

      And I’m more than happy to share your Moodling post. Struck a chord, to be sure.

      Thanks for being here. “See” you next week!

  2. I’ve always looked up to readers of non-fiction. I have a collection of them I’ve picked up over the years, but a novel that can pull me into its new, exciting, and romantic storyworld wins out every time. -RB Austin

    • My heart certainly goes in both directions, too. I think that the line between them is not so defined as we might assume. They each strive to accomplish the same thing, they both tell stories, and they both give voice to the writer’s inner world. The categories almost don’t matter.

      Thanks for coming by!

Leave a Reply

