Friday Fun – Do you give books as gifts?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: On this, the busiest shopping day of the year, we thought it appropriate to talk about whether (and how) we give books as gifts. 

___________________________________________________________________________

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: Absolutely YES. I love to give books almost as much as I love to get them. I don’t give novels as often as I give nonfiction and coffee table-type books because I think choosing a novel is somehow more personal. I often give picture books to grown ups. I happen to love beautifully illustrated picture books myself and have often thought it’s a shame that we outgrow that particular indulgence so quickly. I have an entire bookcase that is filled with my favorite picture books and I don’t find it in the least bit odd. Books of poetry also make lovely gifts, especially ones that include beautiful art along with the poems. In my opinion, a book is a gift that never stops giving. Perhaps I’ll try to do all my holiday shopping at the bookstore this year.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: Yes. Especially to the young readers in my life–I always get them a book. But I also find that anthologies (like Level Best Books) are a great gift for readers, particularly since it is a collection of short stories. Or going to a reading of an author and getting a book signed for a friend is a nice gesture. I have a number of friends with paperbacks out–a perfect sized hostess gift. And for the ebook readers, a gift card always works. The nice thing about books is that they can be “regifted” and make a lot of people happy.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: I seldom give books as gifts. Amazingly my family members aren’t readers, except Mom, and the house is overrunning with her to-be-read pile already. For friends, I just don’t know if they’ve already read a book or not, and preference for paper versus e-reader is something else to consider, too.

I do buy books for Little Sis throughout the year, and when she was younger it was easy to give her anything (as I was the one who interested her in reading and encouraged her to read various genres), but now she reads quickly and is introduced to new series all the time through her friends, so I prefer to buy books when she’s with me, so I know she’s getting something she wants to read – and hasn’t read already!

What’s extra special for me this season is that she’s now interested in creative writing and has quite a talent for making up paranormal worlds. Maybe we’ll start giving stories to each other as gifts!

15 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Do you give books as gifts?

  1. I ALWAYS give books as presents! Many of my friends started reading because I have given them the books that changed their lives! It’s giving the right book to the right person that matters the most, and there is no better gift that can stay with that person forever!

  2. I always give books as gifts when I can! My mum is a huge reader and since I’ve started book blogging she’s found lots of new authors and books that I’ve mention/interviewed/reviewed. For her birthday I got her a Carole Matthews book that I asked Carole to sign – she was thrilled! : )
    – Jenny xo

  3. Lately, I have started giving books as gifts. Mainly to kids. Its easier to gift books to kids. Some pretty pictures to keep the kid interested,with little bit of general knowledge thrown in to make the parents happy. That makes a good gift for kids. Choosing one for the adults can be quite dicey. Specially if they are not close to you. So I refrain. I love receiving books as gifts 🙂

  4. I think if someone is a reader and you but them a book they like it shows how much thought you put into the gift because you can’t just get any old book. My brother is an avid book enthusiast and if I bought him the first book I found well it would cause a feud, but when it is a book he loves well he will be my best friend. Don’t even get me started on the suggestion that we buy him a kindle even I would be put off by that gift 🙂

Leave a Reply

