Mindset – savor the great feelings and keep moving forward

You may know about the Law of Attraction. Maybe you’ve heard about how ‘thoughts become things.’ And maybe you’re familiar with the saying ‘change your thoughts and you change your world’ — (Norman Vincent Peale).

I’ve heard them all. I know that thinking positive thoughts is a lot better than thinking negative thoughts.

There are definitely times when it’s “easier said than done,” but I think I’m getting better at it.

Most days I wake up happy and look forward to being productive, and there’s not much negativity that can get me off track.

On the mornings that don’t start as I want (usually if I’m awakened unexpectedly), it’s more difficult for me to ‘get my happy face on.’ We’ve all been there, right?

When we feel good, we move closer to doing, being, and having the successes that we want. The reason why is straightforward: feeling good allows us (gives us the freedom) to focus on the things we want. And getting what we want gives us the inspiration to continue moving forward.

Do you know anyone who wants to give up the great feeling of accomplishment?

If your day isn’t starting off the ‘right way’ (and we each have our own definition of that), here are some ways to get into a positive mindset:

  • Think about something wonderful in your life (people, things, places)
  • Read through some entries in your gratitude journal (if you have one).
  • Shift through the collection of kudos and ‘great job’ notes (I keep mine in a box on index cards and pieces of paper)
  • Look at your wall of awards / certificates / photos of family and friends
  • Read some pages of your calendar / day planner and see how much you’ve accomplished in the past days or weeks
  • Get some fresh air
  • Exercise
  • Listen to some music
  • Look at pictures of cute animals on Facebook

Having a positive mindset has physiological effects and you can’t help but want to keep that feeling.

Just about to cross the finish line

Just about to cross the finish line

In the past 10 days I ran two 5Ks. My 12th and 13th timed races of the year. The race I did this past weekend gave me a personal record (PR) for the year. I’m still smiling over that success. One more race in 2013, and then I start running races again on Jan 1, 2014.

I’m getting addicted to the feeling I have when I cross the finish line — in both my business and personal lives. I’m ready to up my game and set more serious goals — for racing, and for my business.

I’m looking forward to 2014 — I’m keeping my 2013 accomplishments on the walls around me (the visuals work well for me), so if a day starts off not-so-great, I’ll be able to refocus and get on track quickly.

What gets you back in a positive frame of mind if something derails you during the day?

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She loves writing about NH people, places, and activities. You can connect with her on FacebookTwitterGoogle+, and LinkedIn.

13 thoughts on “Mindset – savor the great feelings and keep moving forward

  1. Writing is what gets me into a positive frame of mind. I love to write and writing is what keeps me happy. When I feel sad and write, I get all my feelings out. I LOVE WRITING! J’ADORE L’ECRITURE!

  2. Funny how timely this is. This morning started out frenetic. I slept through my alarm. My anxiety escalated until I knelt in prayer and then started in on the day right where I was. Sometimes, prayer is enough, but more times than not, I also need to add making an effort, sort of putting my faith in action.

  3. Except for a few times when I was ill, I have nearly always been awake between 6 and 6:30 no matter when I go to bed. It is not the sunlight either. Even when another time zone my body clock gets me going. Before I fully retired, I did set an alarm but never heard it because I was awake earlier.

    I start the coffee, take care another morning routine, read the paper with my first cup or two, and then start writing. Well, sometimes I have volunteer work at 8:00 so the writing is put off until later in the day unless it is gardening season or something in the house is broken. I can miss a day or two or several weeks without trepidation if I am on a mission trip or vacation.

    • Wow, John, what a great routine. I have yet to find a perfect routine. I am like you in regard to not needing an alarm, though. 6AM is my usual time, too. I only use the alarm if I have to be up earlier. I haven’t been that adaptable in different time zones, though! thank you for sharing. 🙂

  4. Very nice post, as usual! I wrote in my own blog once about the propensity of some writers/intellectuals towards pessimism. While some people might think that it gives us an “edge”, I know from experience that a negative midset can be be harrowing on your emotions and physical health. Now, I’m smarter about keeping my mindset positive! I exercise regularly in the mornings. I fill my mind with uplifting spiritual thoughts from the Bible and pray regularly. I also turn to the Literary GREATS like John Keats and William Shakespeare, reading their thoughts which makes me appreciate the beauty of the world. I top it off by hanging out with positive people. It takes a lot of work, but it makes life a lot easier.

    • I agree with you on the negative mindset, I have a tough time now being around people who have that focus. It’s such a black hole! And although we can’t *always* be “up” and “happy”, it makes a difference to know it’s a temporary mindset and we’ll get back to positive soon enough. Thank you for sharing your ways to be positive.

Leave a Reply

