Friday Fun – Any Writerly Gifts?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: In this season of gift giving, did you give any writerly gifts? Did Santa or somebody else know you needed a gift to feed your writerly soul?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I got a brand new fountain pen from my husband. I love fountain pens, even though I don’t use them every day, and my husband got me a beautiful dark blue pen. He’s a very practical person, so the fact that he bought me such a frivolous gift makes it even more special!

As far as giving writerly gifts, I can’t say since I haven’t yet gifted the writer in my life!

18 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Any Writerly Gifts?

  1. I got so many wonderful gifts for Christmas! I received a Parker fountain pen kit, a few books on writing and letters, and some lovely handmade stationary my dad brought me from Florence. AND, I got a six month subscription to Olive Box. I got my dad a calligraphy kit, too, so we’re all feeling very “writerly” in this house this year!

    • Wow, jennasauber,
      Those sound like great gifts! I used to do a lot of calligraphy, so when I see those kits in Barnes and Noble, I just drool over them. One of these days, I’ll get back to it.

      Happy New Year to you and everyone in your “writerly” house!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. A creative writing classmate gifted me a burgundy leather bound journal embossed with my blog’s pen name and my actual name on the cover and spine of the book. I was so touched! My mother gave me a $50.00 gift card to a book store, which I am so grateful for, which I promptly spent on the art of writing and writer’s life books.

    • Hi Kimberly,
      What wonderful gifts to get! That sounds like a very special journal you have!

      Happy New Year! Enjoy your new books and your writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  3. My “writerly” gift of a tablet will get to me in January. Not just a dual core, but a quad core 7″, which means it will be really fast, I am excited at the prospect of being able to read my kindle books and also write and jot down ideas while on the go.

  4. My husband, who is not outwardly sentimental, gifted me a simple little journal with the quote: What Is Your True Story? How deep will you reach into your heart to find your passion? How far will you reach beyond your limits to find your potential? So cool.

    • Hi feltenk,
      I did check out your blog post and I love the gifts! That charm is adorable! What a thoughtful gift. Good luck with your book!

      Happy New Year!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi remodelingpurgatory,
      I agree, the support is priceless. My husband is very practical about gifts, so the fact that he got me a new fountain pen (I already own one) showed me his support of me and my writing. Very cool!

      Happy New Year and happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi philosophermouseofthehedge,
      I really love using a fountain pen. I have also found a wonderful notebook from Clairefontaine that I use for my journal. The ink really glides across the page in those notebooks.

      I love your answer about the antics of people. Inspiration is all around us, isn’t it?

      Happy writing and Happy New Year!

      Warmly,
      Diane

Leave a Reply

