WIGs and Other Goals for 2014

When I looked at my WIGs for 2013, initially I was disappointed. I like to check off boxes and complete my To Do lists, so I was frustrated to see I only accomplished 5 of my WIGs for 2013—out of 37!

But when I reviewed my list, I realized almost all of them were truly WIGs—so completely and Wildly Improbable! I also realized that if I’d been offered some of the opportunities I set as goals, I would have refused them—so how could they be goals?

I wrote more of a Bucket List than a goal list last year so I’m changing things up for 2014. I’m still making a list (I don’t think I could stop myself) but I’m going to change my rules for myself. To make my list for 2014, each WIG (which now stands for “Wildly Improbable Goal” AND “Wildly Inspiring Goal”) has to be:

  1. Something I really want to accomplish in the year 2014;
  2. Something under my control (for example, I can’t control whether I get hired as a newspaper columnist, I can control how many times I query or submit to a newspaper);
  3. Something that feels good to think about striving for as well as attaining.

Looking at #3, I then ask myself the question: “How do I want to feel about my writing this year?”

I want to feel excited, capable, and peaceful about my writing.

With all of the above in mind, here are my writing WIGS for 2014:

  1. Rewrite my novel.
  2. Submit a short story to Level Best books.
  3. Submit to a writing contest 3 times.
  4. Schedule and complete a writing retreat.
  5. Set writing goals every week—put in calendar.
  6. Submit to critique group twice a month
  7. Host a writing retreat.
  8. Do JaNoWriMo, setting a writing goal each day.
  9. Write 12 blog posts for FDNH blog.
  10. Start nonfiction book.

While these goals are very concrete, they are also a stretch for me. Looking at the list, I feel excited, capable, and peaceful, so I think I’m off to a good start.

What are your writing goals for 2014?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: is a writer, blogger, mother, stepmother, life coach, and family physician. I’m getting organized for the new year and I’m so enjoying being in planning mode! Happy New Year, everyone!

24 thoughts on “WIGs and Other Goals for 2014

    • Hi tresbienq,
      I knew “6 impossible things” must be a reference to Alice in Wonderland! Thanks for the reminder. I enjoyed reading your post. I believe (and I could be wrong) if you think something is impossible, you can’t attain it or become it. It’s only when we look at what we think is impossible and question whether it truly is or not that we give ourselves wiggle room and the impossible can become possible.

      Thanks for commenting and happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • Thank you! Exactly! And just to be complete, I think there’s way more to what we can accomplish than we think we can. Actually, I know that for a fact. I wish more people would feel the joy in the struggle of the process. And I look forward to writing on my blog for such supportive people like the ones I found here.
        Lots of smiles! 🙂

  1. Excellent goals! It’s so important to set goals that are within your control. It’s just unnecessary stress to feel bad about things that require someone else (especially a stranger) to make them happen.

    Happy New Year!

    • Hi BrantleyNewton,
      Thanks for your comments. I agree, when I looked back at 2013 I had written so many goals that were out of my control. Live and learn!

      Happy New Year to you, too!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. I really like your list of goals! I’m working on mine and hope to create an equally do-able list but also like you, one that will force me to stretch past what I’m used to, past my comfort zone. Although I’m not new to writing, I am new to blogging and so I want to set goals accordingly. I appreciate your inspiration. I think it will be an exciting year!

    • Hi Jarm,
      Good luck with your goals. I have friends who use an app that locks their email and internet for a set amount of time (they choose) so they can’t do anything but write. I agree that emails and social media can sap your energy and time.

      Let me know how it goes!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi andreablythe,
      Thanks for the support! I agree, breaking things down to weekly goals is crucial. That’s next on my agenda so I’ll be ready for the week.

      Happy writing and goal-setting!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  3. well, I’ve wrote 2014 goals in my blog, but I wrote them in Arabic, I’ll translate them to English here and then put them in my blog post:
    1- Write more books’ reviews
    2- Write more short stories
    3- Write movies’ reviews
    4- Edit my first novel (which is not published yet)
    5- Begin writing my second novel

  4. Very inspiring. I love the idea. I have chose a word to be my focus for the year, Full, and I want my life and writing to flow out of that word. I will now take your idea and write out some attainable goals for several areas of my life.

    • Hi Shamra,
      I love the idea of focusing on one word for the year! I’ll have to think about that for myself. Good luck with your goals and your writing!

      And, you’re welcome!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. Hey Diane, these are some very solid and respectable goals. I have heard it said if you aim at nothing you will hit it every time. Not necessarily a profound statement, but certainly true. I may have to mimic your method and do the same for myself.

    • Hi Joe,
      I like the process of goal-setting because it helps me focus on what I really want in my life and how I want to live my life. Here, I focus on my writing goals, but I write goals around each aspect of my life. And I really believe the Peter Drucker quote I mentioned in a previous blog post: “We vastly overestimate what we can accomplish in one day and we vastly underestimate what we can accomplish in five years.” So if I set goals and don’t reach all of them, I’ll still get where I want to be five years from now, as long as I keep heading in the direction I want to go. Goals help me do that.

      I hope you enjoy the process. Let me know what comes of it.

      Warmly,
      Diane

Leave a Reply

