Friday Fun – Best Books for Winter Reading

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: We’ve been having some stormy and wintry weather around these parts, and that got us to wondering – are there certain books that you especially enjoy when you’re snowbound or all cozied up against the Arctic temperatures?

dll2013Deborah Lee Luskin: I have enough of a bead on my novel – voice, characters and action – that I’m able to read fiction again without what I’m reading unconsciously spilling over into my book. A friend just sent me Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain, which I’m loving, especially as I lost my old dog in August. And I’m (still) listening to an audio edition of Amy Tan’s The Bonesetter’s Daughter while I knit. I try to keep up with my New Yorkers as well as all the other magazines and newsletters that come in to the house. And of course, I’d rather read than file 2013 or start on my taxes . . .

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: There are absolutely certain books that are more alluring to me during the long, winter months. The one I’ve reread most is Winter’s Tale by Mark Helprin. It has been several years since I’ve stepped into the Helprin’s beautiful yet dangerous world, but I still carry with me the sense of wonder and magic that I felt when I first read the story of Peter Lake – orphan, burglar, and master mechanic – and Beverly Penn – a young New York heiress who is dying. This novel is nothing if not sweeping. Helprin’s language is poetic and his deft world creation skills blend the details of his magical surrealist New York with the historical one. The story spans the entire 20th century and a diverse cast of characters, but my favorite element of the story is the white horse, Athansor. The details of the narrative elude me, but I’m glad of that. It means that when I sit down to reread this tale, pieces of it may still come to me as a surprise. For the moment, while I wait to open its cover, I will just enjoy the lingering images of racing across the frozen landscape of upstate New York in a sleigh drawn by a horse that seems to fly, a mysterious cloud bank that hovers on the edges of New York harbor, and the manic passion of a man trying to build a bridge to another world.

P.S. – There is a movie version of this book coming out in February. I do not have high hopes that this book will translate to film well, so if you plan on seeing the movie, I’d recommend you read the book first! 😉

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: Wow, Jamie, funny you mention Winter’s Tale, that’s been in my TBR pile for a while now and it’s coming up in the queue – the title makes it seem like a great winter book. I’ve only heard great things about it, so look forward to delving in. Short story compilations are great in the winter (or any time), as they offer different length stories. 1997 Best American Mystery Short StoriesI’m currently reading The Best American Mystery Stories 1997, edited by Robert B. Parker. Some authors I already know, others I’m getting to know. And I also find large serial novels fun to read in the winter. Such as any Diana Gabaldon book in the Outlander series (Scottish men in kilts and time travel), or (my newest) The Game of Thrones series.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I agree with Deborah, I love reading in the winter. Right now I am in the #JanNoWriStart mode, so I am spending nights writing. But I have three books on the TBR pile. One is Jab Jab Jab Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk. His Crush It helped me figure out how best to use social media. This book promises (and so far delivers) how to land the right hook. I also downloaded the Man Booker prize winner The Luminaries. I listen to the podcast BBC Front Row Daily, which is all about arts and culture. Heard an interview with the author, Eleanor Catton, and it sounds great. The third TBR book is The Artists Way at Work. A friend recommended it, and I am hoping for some illuminating moments. Once the Agatha nominations are out I will add mysteries to my piles.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I don’t have any books that I read specifically in winter, but I definitely have books that I’ve read more than once, and that I plan to re-read again. Many of those are books from my childhood–The Good Master and Harriet the Spy come to mind. Also, I’m looking forward to reading the Harry Potter series to my son when he gets old enough (I hope he’s as into it as I am!) I re-read Bird by Bird at least once a year, and I have done The Artist’s Way three times and I hope to do it again. (I hadn’t seen The Artist’s Way at Work, Julie, but I’ll definitely check it out!) These days I listen to books more than I sit and read–I just finished listening to Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes, and I’m looking forward to reading more of her books.

11 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Best Books for Winter Reading

  1. Ooh, I like the sound of Winter’s Tale. My favorite winter reads are Annie Proulx’s The Shipping News (I read it nearly every winter) and Eowyn Ivey’s Snow Child. I go in for the snow and the rawness of winter when it’s cold outside.

  2. I love Willa Cather’s depiction of the harsh Nebraska winter in “My Antonia.” I often think of it when I step inside on a particularly raw day.
    I too am heading out for a copy of “Winter’s Tale.”

  3. I just finished The Count of Monte Cristo, roughly 1220 pages. Great, long read to last you all winter long. I started it over Thanksgiving. On my reading current To Read List: Best American Short Stories 2013, This is Your Brain on Music, by Daniel Levitin, NW by Zadie Smith and Oblivion, by David Foster Wallace.

    • Hi goingtogermany0693,
      I loved The Count of Monte Cristo! Thanks for reminding me of that wonderful book–and for your other book suggestions. I have Best American Mystery Stories 2013 on my bedside table.

      Warmly,
      Diane

  4. Pingback: Friday Fun – Book to Screen Adaptations | Live to Write - Write to Live

  5. Pingback: Friday Fun – Books We’ve Read More Than Once | Live to Write – Write to Live

  6. Pingback: Getting Back in Gear After the Holidays | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

