Friday Fun – Favorite Quote?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Do you have a favorite quote that inspires you?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: One of my all-time favorite quotes is “Leap, and the net will appear.” I used to keep it posted in my home office and it’s inspired many positive changes in my life. Sometimes the leap is a big shift, like leaving a job that’s secure and lucrative and taking another one that allows more time for other (less lucrative) passions. Sometimes the leap is taking a friendship to a deeper level by being more honest than ever before. In everything, there is risk, but I believe that when we go toward what is more authentic for us there will always be a net under us, no matter how big the risk.

dll2013Deborah Lee Luskin: “There are only three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, nobody knows what they are.” Attributed to W. Somerset Maugham. When I get stuck, this reminds me to just make it up as I go along . . .

.

.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: I find new quotes all that time that inspire, but of course here I am replying to the post and none are popping into my head! Oh, “Live long and prosper.” (letting my Star Trek geekiness show) “You can’t edit a blank page.” (so true – encourages me to get some and any words on a page. There’s one along the lines of “Yesterday is the past, let it go. Tomorrow is the future, so there’s nothing to do yet. Today is the present, treat it like the gift it is.” I know that’s not the exact wording, but it’s what my heart tells me, and it’s very meaningful, don’t you think?

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: “We gain strength, and courage, and confidence by each experience in which we really stop to look fear in the face… we must do that which we think we cannot.” Eleanor Roosevelt.

16 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Favorite Quote?

  1. A thought-provoking and intriguing post. My favourite would definitely be this from Ray Bradbury:

    “You have to jump from cliffs every day and build your wings on the way down.”

    So good I even named my blog after it!

  2. Hard to narrow it down! Lots of my favorites are from CS Lewis. Here are 2 of my favorite Lewis quotes:

    “”It is safe to tell the pure in heart that they shall see God, for only the pure in heart want to.”

    “Aim at heaven and you will get earth thrown in. Aim at earth and you get neither.”

    My favorite classic literature quote is the inspiration for my blog – from Walt Whitman:

    “The press of my foot to the earth springs a hundred affections.”

  3. God grant me the serenity to accept things i cannot change,the courage to change things i can and the wisdom to know the DIFFERENCE!!:) I absolutely love this quote … I have no clue when and from where i picked it up…but whenever i find myself all messed up and feel that gee…i can’t hold it up any more i remember to remember this one… 😉 another one of my favs is ” I am the captain of my soul, I am the Master of my Fate” Ernest Henley… adore this one completely …it renews all lost faith in me…..

  4. My favorite quote isn’t what one would call inspirational, but I find it funny and irreverent and makes me think. From Oscar Wilde: “Either this wallpaper goes or I go!”

    That being said, has the wallpaper gone yet?

  5. “Detach from the Outcome”. A friend said that to me in a conversation about a project I am currently working on. I wrote that on a sheet of paper and taped it to the wall beside my desk. Since then, I have been able to enjoy the process of writing the story without all of the intimidation of what will happen at the end of the road.

  6. Winston Churchill’s quote: “Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened.” This quote seems so apt these days where people don’t often want to know the truth.

  7. I actually saw this as a bumper sticker years ago when I lived in DC.
    I sprinkle it into conversations when the time seems appropriate;
    most people think I’ve been living this way anyway.

    “You’re never too old to have a happy childhood.”

Leave a Reply

