Friday Fun – Love and Writing

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Happy Valentine’s Day! On this annual day of hearts and flowers, let’s talk about love. Express your undying devotion to the written word, a favorite book, or a prized writing utensil. Confess your ardor for a certain character, author, or fictional world. Go ahead, wax poetic. You can even use flowery language if you are so moved. Let Cupid guide you.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: I am almost afraid to begin for fear that I will be carried away. There is about the world of writing and stories and books an ever-present romance. When I take up my pen in the early hours to journal my morning pages, I am immediately soothed and settled by the presence of my familiar tools and the practice of simply forming each letter as I release my thoughts from the encasement of my skull and lay them out across the page. Those few precious moments at the start of my day feel like the embrace of a lover – comforting and yet exciting. Writing feels at times like a kind of courtship. The stories I read and words I write are a never-ending flirtation between my mind and my heart. Each journey of words – either read or written – takes me deeper into the relationship, peeling back layers so that I might turn infatuation into true love. Writing is an act of love. It is an effort to capture the essence of our love affair with life – each moment’s experience so treasured that we are compelled to recreate the reality with enduring words. As the wonderful E.B. White so eloquently said, “All I hope to say in books, all that I ever hope to say, is that I love the world.”

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I envy Jamie’s unabashed love of writing. My relationship with my writing at this moment is like being with someone who love dearly, but who is sitting firmly on your last nerve. But as to the question at hand? Jane Austen. Books. Movies. TV series. I’m at a Persuasion point in my own life, but am looking forward to my annual Pride and Prejudice viewing. The Colin Firth series, naturally. Though I have several versions at the ready.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: It’s too late in the day for me to wax poetic, but I love so many things about writing I can’t not answer this question. I love my fountain pen and my ClaireFontaine journal, I love every new story that captures me and carries me away–I’m always sorry when the journey ends. My most recently loved book is The Rosie Project, by Graeme Simsion. It made me think and it made me laugh–out loud! I love trying new things with my writing, and I love (love!) it when a writing project is finished.

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: I have recently discovered that I am a better writer than speaker. When I speak, especially when it involves passion, I garble my thoughts and they come out in an order that I didn’t intend. I stutter a bit and trip over my words when overwhelmed – my speech just can’t keep up with the train-fast thoughts in my mind.  The result is that my sentences often feel (and sound) like they have been torn apart and hastily repaired with a heavy translucent tape. I lose credibility. I lose faith that I am saying exactly what it is that I need to say.

But when I write, something happens. Perhaps, it’s the time delay, maybe it’s the years of organizational practice, but what sounded coherent in my mind, all of the sudden does make perfect sense when placed on paper. All of the “and another things” come out at the right time and in the right order. I soar and I make myself clear. When I write, I am heard. I exhale.

It’s that beauty and deep appreciation of thoughts finally captured that keep me in this game. It’s what makes me hold my breath in anticipation as I go back to re-read a particularly lovely passage – appreciation and acknowledgement of the pure and unadulterated raw brilliance that is thought in perfect action.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: I love the sound the paper makes when I’m turning the pages. When a book has my attention and pulls me forward, I notice that I caress the edge of the page and feel its texture in the anticipation of turning it to get to the next great scene. I love it when I can smell the ink or a lingering scent from a previous reader (if the book is used or borrowed). I loved library books as a kid and seeing all the signatures on a sign out card, knowing there were others like me in the world who enjoyed opening a cover and seeing what was between the pages.

Nothing is more comforting in my grip than a book, and if there’s any sense of danger, I will cover the book and keep it safe. For instance, a favorite magazine arrived in the mail yesterday, during the snow storm, no harm can come to the words I want to read, so I wrapped the junk newspaper around it to keep it dry. I once loaned a book to someone for a weekend. It was returned to me all curled and faded. “I dropped it in a puddle, but it’s all dry now. You can still read it,” came the response. I was so offended!

Reading, to me, is very sensory – and why I just can’t make the leap into e-reader.

dll2013Deborah Lee Luskin: I love reading, I love writing, I love language, I love stories, and I hate Valentine’s Day.

7 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Love and Writing

  1. Lisa, I feel we are speaking the same language expect having a conversation with me in person would involve getting tangled up in duct tape. I can also relate to the condition others have returned my books in. When I was a preschool teacher in an under served community, I started a lending library with my own books. Some of them came back to me with ripped or missing pages, scribbles and dirt or food on them. I tried to rationalize that the children’s continued exposure to books and print was more important than my possessions, but deep down I was hurt that books could be so disrespected.

  2. Hi, I am joining in at the last minute. Vianne in Chocolate by Joanne Harris is by far my favourite character. A combination of mystery, magic, motherly love and beauty with a tinge of feminine restlessness that emphasises the complexity of a woman. This is the woman I would want to be because then I could probably get any male character I want. Happy Valentine.

  3. Thanks Jamie for starting this exercise, I echo the previous commenter, you are a fabulous group! And I think I’ll bookmark yours as a reminder of what’s possible. I have glimpsed a similar kind of intimacy sometimes, once I get past resistance to surrender to the process. Taking some insight from Steven Pressfield who commented about writing not being lonely because his characters were his company, I realized for me I am delving into the world of Spirit, allowing ideas straight from Divinity to entertain me! It takes my breaking the pull of worldly things to open up that window!

  4. All I have to say to all this is I was given a tip about writing when reading this. Writing is love of life to some and sometimes an expression of that. Since I’m a lifestyle writer which I love I realize I can express this in my writing and have in different ways. Thank you.

  5. I get afraid easily for many different reasons. Getting upset is something that happens a lot to some people. I think that getting upset is something that a lot of people do. I get upset about things such as wrting too. Writing can mean different things to different people. My whole life I have loved writing. Writing is awesome to me. I want to write to make a difference in the world. I want to publish books about the environment and things you can do to live in a better world. I love writing a lot. I write articles, essays, stories and much more. To me writing means inspiring, teaching or entertaining someone through words. Writing is something anybody can do, anytime. It is something the world can share. Writing is all about your opinion. On my blog I will give tips and ideas that are easy to write about. Through my blog I show passion, concern and tips and I hope that people will be inspired enough to do little things to help the environment and many different issues. All the little things that people do add up to show how much people have to share.

Leave a Reply

