Friday Fun — What’s next on your “To Read” list?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: The “To Read” list  never gets shorter because we’re always adding to it. As fast as we can finish one book from the list, we’ve already added half a dozen (or more!). Whether you keep track of yours via goodreads, an Amazon wish list, or a note you scribbled on an old receipt, the “To Read” list is will always be something of a Shangri-La – always just out of reach and full of unimaginable treasures. Still, there always has to be ONE book that’s next up on the list … one treasure that will reveal itself to you sooner than the rest. Which book is that for you? Is it something you just picked up that jumped the line, or something you’ve been meaning to read for a while? 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: This is actually tough to answer because from where I’m sitting at my desk and I can see about a dozen books, all vying for that next spot in line. It’s really anybody’s guess which one will come out on top. I always have a number of soon-to-be-read books at the ready, but which one ends up actually getting picked depends mostly on my mood. At the moment, the front runner is Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto, but I’m also tempted to indulge in a little fantasy and am intrigued by both Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind and Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys. How wonderful to have so many choices … how tragic to have so little time!

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: Easy one! Til Dirt Do Us Part by Edith Maxwell. It just arrived from the publisher this week for me to review. I’d expected it last month, but it was a nice surprise to start the new month. (I’m so glad February is over!) I also received A Biscuit, A Casket by Liz Mugavero and Boiled Over by Barbara Ross. All 3 are cozy mysteries by New England authors that I’ve been asked to review in the next month. Such a treat.

dll2013Deborah Lee Luskin: I just down loaded two audio books for tomorrow’s drive. (I’m going to visit my 88-year old dad.) Lorrie Moore’s novel, A Gate at the Stairs, and Rudyard Kipling’s Just So Stories. While I’m away, I’ll have a copy of Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz with me (but not my beloved pup).

.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: Scandal in Skibereen by Sheila Connolly has been waiting for me to have a moment, and I think this weekend is it. I could really use a good mystery, and I love this new Irish series of Sheila’s. I also have Life After Life by Kate Atkinson, and Moving (A Life in Boxes) by Pat Gabridge on my Kindle. Has anyone. I am not an audio book person, but I need to look at them to help me catch up–my TBR pile is very high, though mostly virtual. And P.S. Lisa, enjoy the books!

19 thoughts on “Friday Fun — What’s next on your “To Read” list?

  1. I’m currently reading several books at a time (on my kindle, on my ipad).

    For a GoodReads group called The Source, where we try to find well-crafted self-published books, I’m reading Gregor Xane’s Six Dead Spots.

    I’m part of a GR group on spy and suspense novels, and one of the authors, Gary Haynes, offered review copies of his novel State of Honour.

    And for fun I’m reading Looking for Chet Baker by Bill Moody.

    And I recently got a secondhand smartphone, and I downloaded a Kindle app and found myself re-reading Joseph Garraty’s horror novel Voice.

    • You make me want to use my Kindle more often!
      Lately, I’ve been borrowing hardcovers from the library. Love the feel of a solid, heavy tome in my hands.
      Tempted by the paperwhite, though … 😉

      • I borrowed Game of Thrones, but the tiny font and bad contrast in the print version made reading in bed so difficult that I ended up buying all the books in one big epub file through iTunes, so I could read them on my iPad…

  2. I’m about to read another Nikki Heat novel, just for light relief. Most of my reading involves my own short stories and novels and the continuing editing. So unless Stephen King has just released something, I stick with light, easy to pick up and amusing. Love Temperence Brennan stories too.

    • Ah! You have named two of my favorite TV shows – “Castle” and “Bones.” I have never read any of the associated novels. Obviously, you enjoy them. 🙂 Do you also watch the shows? If so, how to the books compare?

    • I haven’t read any of the books, but I hear they are similar to (but, not as good as) The Hunger Games trilogy, right? There are a number of Divergent vs. Hunger Games discussion on Goodreads if that’s of interest to you.

  3. It’s always a treat to know what other people have on their TBR shelf.

    Let me throw out another title I think you’d all enjoy: “Beautiful Ruins” by Jess Walter. I read glowing reviews of it a year to two ago, and finally picked it up at a bookstore. I devoured it in a few days, relishing many things he did so well; multiple subplots, a romance / comedy / Hollywood memoir.
    Two plots, one in 1962 on Cinque Terre, second in present day Hollywood, merge in very touching way.

    And then there’s Walter’s writing; I held my breath reading several passages, marveling how well he has honed his craft.

    Start it on a weekend when you have minimal demands on your time.

  4. The Name of the Wind is great! Sometimes when I’m bored and have no interest in other books I pull it up on my kindle for a second/third re-read. I also just finished the Divergent trilogy, didn’t read the Hunger Games so I can’t compare them, but I loved Divergent. I’m currently reading Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan though, my other half recommended it so I hope its good.

  5. There are two books on my bedside table waiting to be picked up again while I grabbed precious evening hours to catch up on Oscar nominated movies. The books are: Sue Miller’s While I Was Gone and Hannah Richell’s The Shadow Year. I am also trying to read more self-published work this year and a few of these novels wait on my Kindle.

  6. I am reading A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. I recently read Bel Canto which I enjoyed very much, but for anyone who has not read Wild by Cheryl Strayed, that was one of the very best books I have ever read. really! Also just finished Unbroken which sat on my to read pile for a couple if years. That was a painful read but worth the effort.

  7. My ‘to read’ list just gets longer and longer. I don’t think that even if I lived to 100 that I would manage to read all the books that I’d like to. Breathing, writing and reading – those are the most important things in my life and in exactly that order 🙂

  8. Pingback: Jelly: Like minds afoot. | Philosopher Mouse of the Hedge

  9. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Book clubs, good reads, writing advice & inspiration | Live to Write - Write to Live

Leave a Reply

