Friday Fun — Spring Poems

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Even though the Academy of American Poets declares April National Poetry Month, we live in northern New England, where we were hit with snow and freezing temperatures this week. So, what better way to end the week than with lines from our favorite poems about Spring?

IMG_1102Deborah Lee Luskin writes:

T. S. Elliot sums up April with the opening lines of his poem, The Wasteland:

       April is the cruellest month, breeding
    Lilacs out of the dead land, mixing
    Memory and desire, stirring
    Dull roots with spring rain.
But Robert Frost nails April in this stanza from his poem, Two Tramps in Mud Time:
      The sun was warm but the wind was chill.
You know how it is with an April day
When the sun is out and the wind is still,
You’re one month on in the middle of May.
But if you so much as dare to speak,
A cloud comes over the sunlit arch,
A wind comes off a frozen peak,
And you’re two months back in the middle of March.
And another one from Frost, one that captures the tease of a New England spring, where the trees don’t leaf out until May, and a week later it’s full summer.  Nothing Gold Can Stay.
    Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf,
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day
Nothing gold can stay.
.
headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: I’ll be honest, I’m no poetry aficionado. As I began sorting through my (overly) large collection of books in prepare for my upcoming move, I came across several poetry anthologies that I had forgotten I owned. When I saw this weeks Friday Fun question, I thought about pawing through their pages in search of something to share, but then I thought better of it. You see, despite my lack of knowledge about poetry, there are a few I like. For the theme of spring, the first poem that came to mind was Spring Morning by A.A. Milne.
If I had to pick a favorite line, it would be the closing stanza:
    sm snowdropsWhere am I going?  I don’t quite know,
What does it matter where people go?
Down to the wood where the blue-bells grow–
Anywhere, anywhere, I don’t know.
          ~A. A. Milne, When We Were Very Young
To hear the whole poem read aloud (and I think poetry should always be read aloud), check out this link Audioboo.
.
.
.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: I’d really have to do some digging and searching to find a poem. I spent a couple of semesters on poetry while working on my MA in writing and fell in love with a lot of different types of verse, but nothing that I can pull to mind immediately. I have to default to childhood lyrics and make up my own:

Roses are red
Violets are blue
If Spring ever arrives
I’ll be born anew.
.
.

5 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Spring Poems

Leave a Reply

