Friday Fun — Other Creative Pursuits

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION:  Is writing it or do you pursue other creative activities?

Susan Nye: I confess, I’m a real Martha. So much so that I frighten myself sometimes. As a food writer, I am constantly working on new recipes. On top of magazine work, my Around the Table blog has a voracious appetite and demands a new recipe every week. Then there are all the fun crafty things I like to do. Especially around the holidays, I’ve got my fingers in multiple projects – flags made from old wood slats, painted gourds, Halloween costumes, homemade wreaths and centerpieces, tree ornaments and a few funky gifts.

 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: I came *this close* to going to art college. My dad is a visual artist (photographer, illustrator, graphic designer, painter), and I started sketching at about the same time I started journaling. I still dabble now and again, though I don’t have as much time as I’d like to play with my pencils and markers anymore.

instagramMy digital replacement for such creative activities is Instagram. I adore this little app and all the other digital photography apps that I’ve downloaded to edit my photos. The little creative rush I get from “making” images to share on Instagram inspires me to pay closer attention to the world around me. Just like my writer’s mind, my artist’s mind keeps me open to seeing things differently and appreciating them more.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I have always loved the physical art of writing and I have done calligraphy since I was a teenager, although not much in the last few years. I’m also someone who does a lot of handwork–I knit, I cross-stitch, and I’ve made my own journals. I do a lot of craft projects with my son now that he’s old enough. I like having something to do with my hands while I work through a problem or just relax my mind. I get a lot of good ideas when I’m doing something with my hands.

.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: B&W film photography is a passion of mine, sadly it has gone the way of the dinosaur. I *have* gone digital with my photography and although I love it, it’ll never be the same as developing film in a dark room. In the past I did counted cross-stitch. My favorite is of a lobsterman that is 16″x 20″. I had it framed when I finished it and it’s always hanging in my livingroom.

I took some drawing classes for a while and have quite a few pencil sketches — (the hat and cigar drawing  is a favorite). Lisa Jackson artwork

I want to re-learn how to crochet. Oh, I tried pottery once, well, for 6 weeks, but I could not get the clay to bend to my will no matter how fast I spun that wheel!

.

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: Writing is only part of my life. I belong to a service club, I am the Executive Director of a non-profit that advocates for the disabled community in N.H., got my toes in the Lyme pool, I read (voraciously) – (oh hey, two of us have used this word today) and I cook (with 6 kids I had to learn how to cook and because I didn’t want to eat chicken tenders for the rest of my life, I learned to cook a variety of recipes.)

I used to do X-stitch but I don’t seem to be able to find the time, patience, or sight to do that these days. Although I’m active in many areas, it’s the writing into which I pour the most of my creativity. Writing soothes both my creative yearnings as well as my soul.

dll2013_124x186Deborah Lee Luskin: I’m late with my contribution today because I’ve been making pate, baking cookies and making the first rhubarb pie of the season in advance of celebrating my youngest child’s graduation from college this weekend! So, cooking for crowds is one of my creative outlets, as is gardening. I love growing fruits and vegetables, and we grow a lot, especially berries, peaches, pears and plums. Recently, I returned to knitting in the evening, either while listening to audiobooks or watching movies – both great ways to “unwind” after a day at my desk. And, I’m trying to wean myself from playing solitaire to practicing the piano – and I’m working on learning a new (to me) Mozart sonata.

5 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Other Creative Pursuits

  1. I have a day job as an executive assistant. But my true love is writing. I have been writing book reviews for the past year, but I’m also working on a novel and some health related material.

    In addition, I have done knitting, crocheting, painting, making jewelry, and gardening in the creative realm. I also attend church and care for my mother who’s in assisted living. When I can get a good night’s sleep I feel blessed.

  2. I love creating greeting cards! I publish online with a publishing company but add a variety of sweet, simple embellishments that make each card unique. I am using some of the images to accent my blogs.

    My grandmother was a gardener and expressed herself creatively through marvelously designed and manicured gardens. I do not have a green thumb, but I LOVE decorating my home (and friend’s homes when they let me). Mixing color, textures and prints, both vintage and contemporary, makes for a warm and happy home!

  3. Painting, drawing, paper mache, singing, acting, mixed media projects, playing in clay, cooking, gardening, jewelry making, crafting with the kiddos, journal making….Love to dabble in just about anything that emulates creativity but writing will always be my favorite!!!

Leave a Reply

