Meet the Muses

This weekend, I house-sat for a friend. She needed someone to take care of the pets and I needed solitude to finish my writing. It was a no-brainer to say “Yes.” That’s what you call a win-win situation.

Even though I kept hearing from the kids back home about soccer games, plays, and parties, I did what it was I needed to do to get a project I’ve been working on for a long time, completed. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with tiny houses (I’ll be attending a tiny house building workshop at the end of June) and this weekend has only enforced the need for me to have the ability to go off somewhere, where the interruptions are limited. That’s how writing really gets done.

Butt in chair with no distractions.

However, like my chickens, I tend to rely on flock behavior. Even though I needed solitude, I didn’t necessarily *like* the solitude. It’s nice to share successes with others.

Which is why, on Friday before I went to the house, I went to a local thrift store and picked up a temporary flock. These guys sat by my computer all weekend and cheered me on when I thought I couldn’t write one more sentence.

IMG_20140519_074815593

I’d wake up in the morning, start the coffee, and then sit down at the table.

“Good morning sheep. Good morning pig. Cow,” I’d nod to them, and then I’d get started.

They never offered any criticism and didn’t tell anyone when I indulged in a small bowl of ice-cream. (shhh)

My flock was silent as they watched me toil and listened when I talked out sections that didn’t quite have the flow I wanted. They were the best kind of flock members, there when I needed them, respectfully quiet when I didn’t, and always ready to give me an encouraging nudge.

My project is done, it’s a manuscript based on the lessons learned in my blog, but just like any newly pregnant woman knows, it’s bad luck to talk about the baby too early. So for now, I’ll be quiet, but will be sure to let you know of any progress.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com)

10 thoughts on “Meet the Muses

  1. Wendy,
    I find your write up so amusing… How I laughed… What a place to find solitude and sanity to write!
    Being an African, I should not have any problem getting your type of flocks together and have a field day writing.
    Honestly, I admire you, but, I can’t see myself having such flocks; goats, cows, and chicken… for an audience, I would really be more comfortable with human beings even if they are deaf and dumb…

    I like the flow of your writing… I am just an amateur who had managed to publish a small book about myself and how I almost died on the hospital surgical ward… It refuses to sell, I now resolve to giving them out as gifts…

    I write poems, short drama… Not yet published… I think I need some encouragement here…

    Anyway, I am eager to read about your coming baby.

    ‘Tosin.
    Lagos, Nigeria.

    ‘Tosin Oloye-Oyewole Mrs.
    Media Practitioner/Consultant.
    …Media & Communication for Positive Changes…
    Sent from my BlackBerry wireless device from MTN

  2. Very cute…so where is their tiny house?? When I write I have my old dog and stuffed animals around me, some from childhood, some that I’ve made (some that I’ve made as characters from my books), and some from my old favorite cartoons (I have a classic 1960s Tigger that a junk shop lady sold me for a dollar!!). When I need companionship I stop to pet Bear and talk to the toys. After all, the fairies hiding in my closet need to hear what’s going on, right? ;p

  3. Great idea! I’m wondering, did you have access to Internet while house sitting? While working on my (yet unpublished) book, we visited my BIL, and I purposely didn’t ask him for his Internet password. I got so much done!

  4. Beautiful! I must now acquire myself a flock. I already have a tiny pig with a winning smile that was given to me for my 18th birthday by a girl I wasn’t particular friends with, but who was very kind and thoughtful. That pig took on very poignant significance when the girl was killed in a car accident only a few months later.

Leave a Reply

