Friday Fun — Unwinding

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: How do you unwind after a long day of writing?

 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: After a long day of brain-cranking at my desk, my favorite way to unwind is getting outside and moving. Often, I end up joining my daughter as she takes one of her canine clients (she’s a dog walker) for an outing. Sometimes, my beau joins me. And, sometimes, I just head out on my own. There is something about the combination of fresh air and physical exertion that clear my head like nothing else.

Of course, once I’ve been out and had my walk, I wouldn’t say no to a nice glass of wine or a Jameson’s on the rocks and some down time to enjoy conversation, a good movie, or a good read.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: “It all depends.” <grin> It really does. Sometimes it’s great to get outside for a bicycle ride or a long walk — if that walk could be on the beach, so much the better. It could be watching a movie — something off the wall or funny or any Pixar movie (those are great any time, I find). Picking up a good book can sometimes itch the scratch after a long writing day. A most common denominator, now that I’m thinking on this, is a glass of sangria and a large bowl of popcorn — somehow that pairing is celebratory and unwinding at the same time for me — but only in the evening and when I know I’m not going to be driving any where until the next morning.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I’m with Lisa, “it all depends”. I am a late day writer, so sometimes it will be a good stretch, a glass of wine, and bed. If I am on a roll, I may unwind with a break, and then see if I can eek out a few more words. No matter what, I have to regroup a bit after a long day of writing, and shift back into “real” life.

dll2013_124x186Deborah Lee Luskin: I wish the end of the day were so clear. I often have to stop writing fiction at noon to do other things – like earn money. I also put off all the household tasks, like groceries and cooking to the end of the day. I like preparing dinner; grocery shopping, not so much. And on our small homestead, there are always chores, like planting, weeding, harvesting fruits and vegetables, and caring for chickens (laying and meat flocks). These are activities I enjoy, especially the ones where I can think about the book and problem solve while I edit weeds from the vegetables. But the real end of the day doesn’t come until dinner is over (Tim usually cleans up), and I’m sitting down with a bourbon and a book. Ah.

Susan Nye: Depending on how late I stay at my desk, it’s not always easy to come down. On the perfect day, I write until late afternoon and then go for a long walk to relax and reenergize. There aren’t that many perfect days. More than not, my writing day is broken into pieces, a few hours here, here and there. Last night, it was after 10:00 when I finally closed things down. I was exhausted but wired. To chill out, I watched a Castle rerun with a glass of chardonnay. It worked, I fell asleep before Beckett and Castle caught the bad guy.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Unwinding

  1. How do I unwind after a long spell of creative writing? The answer depends on what time I am done and what kind of writing I have been doing. Sometimes I write during the middle of the day for inspiration and other times I wait until the quiet of the night to write.

    The feeling I get from my creative story writing when I lay my laptop down is I am thoroughly mentally exhausted. Creating a fictional story is draining as I have walked every step with my characters. I have felt their pain and embraced their joy. I seek either my pillow if late at night or stretch out on my sectional sofa to relax for a spell. My wife knows that I need a period of solitude because I have been engaged with my characters and need time to pull away and return to real world before we can have a valued conversation.

    When I write my devotional pieces, the writing is much different and so is the experience at the conclusion of the piece. When I hit publish on my computer screen and save my writing to the appropriate folder, I feel encouraged and engaged for the day. When I write about living under the light of God’s will, ways and wisdom I am ready to begin my day and greet the sunshine with a smile.

    Coach

  2. …Creating a meal (meals, if fostering puppies)… “washing” dishes… the hottest shower with yummy-fragrance soaps, shampoos and body lotions, peppermint toothpaste… soft, snuggly sleepwear, brushing my hair…and climbing into fragrant, fresh sheets with a good book… ❤

    Wow, I had never really thought about my nightly routine before… Thanks!! 🙂

  3. HA! Wine, sangria, whisky, and bourbon. We clearly each have a little Hemingway in our blood … thankfully, only a little. 😉

  4. After a long day of writing, I love to curl up on my bed or couch, watch mindless television, cuddle with my grandbabies, and/or read a book for pleasure rather than for business or writing.

  5. I don’t write long posts but after I get them just like I want them and publish them, I sit back feeling good about what I’ve accomplished and take a long breath and perhaps do some sit down exercises to relax.

  6. I generally go to cafe` to write so when I get home I unwind by getting things done that I want to get done around the house.

  7. I don’t often get a long day of writing. But when I do at the end of it, in no particular order, I’m exhausted, inspired, drained, and preoccupied. I feel like collapsing in front of some mindless TV. Despite many experiments with different versions of mindless TV and various viewing options ranging from spread-eagled to sitting upright, from large screen to iPad, sadly, I have found that this does not help. What helps is cooking, walking or going off to the gym. And, I’m forced to admit, this last is best.
    PS Love your blog, glad I found it!

Leave a Reply

