Know What You Want…and 2 Other Reminders

I was able to get away for a special retreat a week ago — it was a way to reconnect my mind and body with my ‘true passion.’ That passion is writing and sharing my experiences with others — but in focusing on the job a 6-7 days a week and staying focused on projects, it’s easy to lose ‘self.’

Early morning companions

Early morning companions

So I took this 3-day time out and reconnected. I did some yoga, I had walks at dawn with some deer, and I spent all 3 days on the lake’s edge. It was rejuvenating.

Over the weekend I had a few things reiterated to me. Things I’ve known for years. Things I’ve worked on at various times to various degrees.

It’s always good to be reminded, though, and here’s one particular reminder that leaped out at me.

The three things everyone needs in order to succeed – in our writing careers, in our personal lives, in anything.

Those 3 things are:

  1. Know what you want
  2. Know why you want what you want
  3. Decide when you intend to have what you want

Goals. Written goals. Visualized goals. Living “as if” the goals are already achieved. Things we know; things we’ve talked about here many times, right?

We know that without knowing the what, why, and when — most likely, the “what” will never transpire.

Sometimes we just need to hear the same thing stated in different ways. Maybe this will strike you just right as you start a new week.

Namaste!

Lisa J. Jackson

Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She knows goals are good; written goals are great; visualized goals are the best.  You can connect with her on Twitter, Facebook,  Google+, and LinkedIn.

27 thoughts on “Know What You Want…and 2 Other Reminders

  1. It’s that you got to get away. I think that’s what I need. It’s hard for me a as a writer because I’m not succeeding the way I want to. I pitch, send queries and write new material when all of the old material isn’t making it’s way to those who will want it. It’s frustrating as a writer. But, I’d love to just sit by a body of water and just write.

  2. Pingback: Know What You Want…and 2 Other Reminders | Philippa Bonham

  3. Awesome advice… Thank you once again for reminding me of the importance of goals. Too often, I make a list of things to do and don’t really consider where those things will take me. I need to stop and think, instead of just doing. Thank you.

  4. My goals are in my head, o good there, they need to be put into physical form and put where I can see them. Thanks for this reminder! I must get more determined. 🙂

Leave a Reply

