Friday Fun — Happy Fourth of July!

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Do you have any 4th of July rituals? Favorite plans? Recipes to share?

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I love, love, love the 4th of July. Some of my rituals include watching 1776, making icebox cake, spending the day with my family, and seeing fireworks. Icebox cake: make a lemon sheet cake. Make a double batch of lime jello with half the water. Poke holes in the cake, and then pour the jello over it.  Refrigerate. Either use lemon icing OR make whipped cream and add lemon pudding. Refrigerate some more. Happy 4th!

 

dll2013_124x186Deborah Lee Luskin: We often cross the river to Keene, NH, to see the Swampbats play a home game. After the game, everyone sits in the infield for a great fireworks display. My favorite cakes, made alternate years for my middle child’s birthday on July seventh and celebrated on the Fourth, are 1) the famous chocolate wafer-whipped cream cake. (Follow directions on the chocolate wafer box; our record was using five boxes on wafers and a half gallon of whipped cream for a Large Party!) and 2) Flag cake: Make a vanilla sheet cake at least 9×13, but bigger is better. Cover with whipped cream and place blueberries in the top left corner and make stripes with fresh strawberries. Very patriotic (and delicious).

.

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: Nothing from my camp! Every year is different. This year will be local fireworks and a parade — if the weather cooperates — Hurricane Arthur is making things tentative, so we’ll see how it plays out.

Flexibility is the key.

 

 


Flag_Trifle_03Susan Nye:
When I lived in Switzerland, I always tried to take the week of the 4th off. I figured I’d improve my chances of seeing most if not all my family if I was in the US on a national holiday. Celebrations included a cookout and the fireworks on Pleasant Lake.

Although I tend to avoid it, salmon on the Fourth is a New England tradition. At one time, it was a family tradition. Well, it was until I celebrated an upside down Fourth. Since then, we’ve mostly stuck with hamburgers and hotdogs, especially if kids are around and there usually are. For a very special holiday dessert, I recommend a Stars & Stripes Berry Trifle. If that seems like too much work, then Strawberry Shortcake is a good alternative.

6 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Happy Fourth of July!

  1. 4th of July in our family means hitting the four wheel access beach before 9am. Breakfast? Yes please! Eggs, bagels, pastries and more. Happy Hour starts extra early. Homemade mozzarella with tomato and basil salad. Loaves of newly baked bread. Swimming, fishing and volleyball. Burgers, dogs, prosciutto, chicken wings, shrimp, sausage…I have to stop. My mouth is watering.
    This year? Hurricane Arthur. Repeat the above and insert “at Aunt Lucille’s house.”
    Happy Fourth of July everyone!

  2. I don’t have any traditions that survived beyond childhood. I do remember not being in a good place to see fireworks so my grandparents put them on the television and we all watched. Desert was simple – strawberries with a little sugar.

  3. In years past I Bar-B-Qued, ribs and chicken, slowly over a apple wood for several hours, however the 4th of July before retirement would be working most holidays at some point getting some burgers, bratwurst, beer and fireworks with family and friends later in the day.
    Now it is a 5k race with friends, eating some healthy choices with a beer and watching a fireworks show.

  4. I’ve tried the pretty berry cake above and never get it close to as nice looking as the photos. For us, it’s fireworks in the yard followed by messy delish smores around a bonfire 🙂

Leave a Reply

