I’m Passionate about Writing!

Back when I did Master Coach training with Martha Beck, in 2008, she said something that still resonates with me: “Whatever you are passionate about, you should be doing something as a coach that relates to that topic.”

I am passionate about many things but one of the things I am most passionate about is writing. I write on life coaching topics but hadn’t thought about coaching about writing at that time. I started doing writing retreats with my writing group in Maine many years ago, and have continued to do them with groups of writing friends and local writers I hadn’t met yet. I’ve hosted “Write-In’s” for NaNoWriMo and, when I think about it, I’ve coached people during every writing event I ever hosted.

So now I’m taking this idea for a writing retreat and making it a little more formal. I’ve created a one-day writing retreat, in a very comfortable setting, with all the amenities available (coffee being the most important.) The retreat I envision is mostly about writing but there’ll be a little coaching in there, too, to help us all write more and write more authentically.

I wrote the agenda over a year ago (when I was dreaming of doing a writing retreat.) And I’m finally doing it. I’m hosting a writing retreat on September 20, 2014, at the Radisson Hotel, in Nashua, NH. We’re taking over a beautiful conference room and we’ll have comfy chairs, lots of plugs, and lots of coffee, which is good because we’re going to start at 8:30 AM!

Just creating this retreat and putting it out there feels wonderful to me, so I know the day will be a success, whether I have 1 participant or 12.

If you are interested in joining me, please click here for more information.

And whatever you are passionate about, think about how you can incorporate that into your life in some way in the next few months.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD: is a writer, blogger, mother, stepmother, family physician, and a life coach. I also seem to be doing a lot of vacationing this summer. I’m currently writing this from the cottage my sister and I rented with our kids overlooking St. Peter’s Bay, PEI, Canada–one of the most beautiful places on earth, in my opinion.

18 thoughts on “I’m Passionate about Writing!

    • Hi Steven,
      I was just talking to someone about my plans for the fall and everything I’m doing is because I’m passionate about it and it sounds like fun to me!

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi A Writer With Something To Say,
      I would love to have you at my retreat! Hopefully some other time!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  1. It will be a wonderful retreat, and if I lived within even 200 miles, I would attend. Thank you for reminding me to join with other writers-in person-and soon. I’ve just moved away from my two amazing writing groups, and am missing the camaraderie and support.

    • Hi rachellpohlman,
      I would love to have you at the retreat! And I agree, it’s important to get in person with other writers, at least once in a while. I hope you can find a new group in your area–it’s worth the effort of looking for one!

      Good luck with finding a new writing group!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • Hi Diane, I think I may have found a writing group, which really does inspire me to write more regularly. Thanks for your message, and I look forward to reading your blog regularly. I also found a retreat at UW/Madison coming up in the fall. Ahhh. My writing identity is intact! (: Be well! Thanks Again, Lori

    • Hi The Greedy Reader,
      I will have to think about doing an online retreat! That could be really fun! Thanks for the idea!

      As far as writing advice, I’d recommend finding a writer’s group to work with and, of course, keep reading this blog!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. Hey Diane. Sorry to put this in the public domain. I really enjoy your posts on this site. I am now editing an online publication about writing and am wondering if you’d like to guest blog. Drop me a line annalisaparent.com annalisa [at] parentstudios [dot] com

Leave a Reply

