Friday Fun — Guilty Reading

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Is there any genre of books that you secretly love to read but are embarrassed to admit you enjoy? Confess. 

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: I’m not embarrassed to admit I read erotica, but it’s difficult to take those books in public, so I have to keep them at home, or tear the covers off (and I don’t destroy books, so, reading at home it is!) Some dark fiction books I enjoy have graphic covers, so it’s difficult to take those anywhere, too. I don’t want to offend anyone — or scare the crap out of anyone. I read whatever attracts me and can pull me into a new world. I love reading young adult books, too, and sometimes get asked if I’m a teacher if someone sees me reading that genre. “No, not a teacher, just a reader enjoying a good story.”


Susan Nye:
It’s not a secret and I’m not embarrassed but I’m a fan of shoot-‘em-up detective stories and legal thrillers.

.

.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: My reading tastes run far and wide. From Tolkien to Tolstoy, I’ve probably dipped my toes in almost every genre. In some cases (Stephen King – horror), I jumped right back out; but for the most part my book selection bounces from genre to genre like the “Squirrel!” dog in the movie Up.  The only genre that am a little embarrassed to admit I enjoy is “Chick Lit.” Now, there’s literary Chick Lit (which I have no problem with), but once we start getting into beach read territory, I start to feel a little uncomfortable. The truth is, though, that any story you enjoy is a story worth reading. Do I sometimes watch stupid movies or watch inane television shows? Of course I do. I actually have an entire Pinterest board dedicated to my guilty pleasures. I figure that guilty pleasures are a great way to a) unwind the brain and b) remind us how fabulous our non-guilty pleasures are. 😉

 

photo: M. Shafer

photo: M. Shafer

Deborah Lee Luskin: I’m clearly too serious and have entirely too little time to read, so I’m grateful for the above – and I’m especially interested in Lisa’s recommendations!

 

 

 

 

 

wendy-shotWendy Thomas:Like many of the other writers here, I constantly read. If it’s not a book I’m reading for an article’s research, or a book I’ve been asked to review, then it’s a book I’ve heard someone crow about and I want to see what it’s about.

That said, one of my guilty pleasures is Cozy Mysteries – you know the Murder She Wrote type of story that involves an unlikely detective along with a pretty large dose of humor. For some reason, they just tickle my reading bone.

Like Jamie, I also enjoy a good “chick-lit” story every now and then. Interestingly, I tend to read those in the summer instead of the winter when I usually turn to “heavier” reading (non-fiction, research.)

15 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Guilty Reading

  1. Some amusing choices there. I’d never considered ripping the cover off a book to hide it, though I have some books that are missing their back covers from when I worked in a book warehouse and we could cheaply buy damaged copies.

    My guilty pleasure is Rudyard Kipling’s Storky and Co.

  2. I’m with Lisa. I keep my erotica at home, not out of embarrassment, but because of those steamy covers. My biggest guilty pleasure though is horror. I can read horror all day (and night!) but I cannot watch a horror film. Funny that.

    • I totally get why you can read horror, but not watch it. I’m a huge Neil Gaiman fan, but I would never want to see some of his darker works on the screen. Stephen King books, on the other hand, have a mixed history. Some translate into, I’m told, terrifying movies while others turn out as laughable parodies.

  3. Wendy, You reminded me of my own cozy mystery guilty pleasure: “The Cat Who” series by Lillian Jackson Braun. I have a half dozen of them in my Audible collection. They are such a comfort to listen to – very predictable, light-hearted, and … well … cozy. I may have to tap into one of those to get me through the last couple weeks of summer. Bring on the school year!!! 🙂

  4. What’s my guilty pleasure?
    Hoarding books I’ll probably never read.
    I used to read a lot of SF and still enjoy re-reading books by Philip K Dick (Galactic Pot-Healer, Flow my Tears the Policeman Said, Do Andriods Dream of Electric Sheep?) and Roger Zelazny (Lord of Light, Creatures of Light and Darkness)…. There are many other fine writers whose visions I’ll pass over for now.
    Apart from that my tastes are pretty much research driven – primarily history, but also the bric-a-brac of life plus snippets of science and culture.

  5. It’s M/M Erotic Romance for me! I don’t worry about covers anymore since I have my Kindle Paperwhite and the Kindle app on my phone 😉 I take my M/M stories with me everywhere!

    Fun subject, btw! 😀

  6. I enjoy reading and watching many things and I don’t have anything I consider a “guilty” pleasure. Even if I’m dabbing into chick-lit or children media, I am fine admitting I do read/watch this. I used to be told that I should feel guilty for reading/watching/researching my favorite genres (Science Fiction and Fantasy) when I was still in school, so it cured me from feeling guilty about things I enjoy when it comes to media consumption.

  7. Like Jamie, I get a secret pleasure from chick lit – and not just the literary type.Maeve Binchy and Marian Keyes – maybe it’s an Irish thing 🙂

Leave a Reply

