Friday Fun — When I absolutely LOVE the book I’m reading …

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: When you find a book that you absolutely adore, how do you go about reading it. Do you forsake all your other responsibilities and just surrender to the story, consuming it in great gulps. Or, do you ration it out to make it last longer? 

 

Lisa J. JacksonLisa J. Jackson: What a lovely question! If I become enraptured with a book and it’s humanly possible, I will forsake everything else to keep reading without interruption. I love when I find books like that (and have the time to give myself over to them!)

I only ration a book like that if absolutely forced to. I’ve been known to have a quick-fix meal instead of making a well balanced meal just to get back to reading faster. I suppose audio books would make life easier in this instance, huh? I could carry the book with me and multitask while ‘reading’. But I haven’t tried that yet. My only novel reading is via a paper book in my hands.

.

Susan Nye: While I might want to forsake other responsibilities, more often than not, it’s impossible to drop everything. Instead, I do my best to drop as much flotsam and jetsam as possible to binge on the book. I’m usually early to bed but if I’ve got a book I just can’t put down I become an night owl. And pay the price the next day!

 

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: Is there anything better than loving a book? I will admit, it doesn’t happen often for me. These days I keep studying the craft, so getting swept away is quite the feat. When that happens, I just go with it. I’m with Lisa, I only ration if I must.

 

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I used to love reading a good book into the night, until I could hear the birds chirping in the early morning. But those days are over, at least for now. Most of my fiction reading right now is actually listening in the car, and it’s hard to shut the car off and go into the house when I’m listening to something great, but I usually do (at least at the end of the chapter.) Then I sort of forget about it until I have to travel alone again and then it occurs to me that I have a good book to listen to and suddenly I can’t wait to get in the car!

 

 

 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: When I fall in love with a book, I find myself turning a blind eye to reality so that I can secret away as much reading time as possible. As is the case with most love affairs, its very existence gives me a means to justify almost any behavior and bad decision. I can ignore housework and familial obligations, duck out on friends and shirk on deadlines, and I can stay up too late and generally make excuses to avoid anything that might interfere with my reading. I inhale the book in great, deep breaths … until I get close to the end. As the pages left to read dwindle down to a sad few, I hold back just a little. The end of the romance is in sight, but I’m not ready to let go, so I tarry as long as I can, lingering over each phrase. Eventually, of course, my beloved book and I must part ways; but if it was truly love, I know that we’ll meet again.

 

M. Shafer, Photo

M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin: Like Diane, I don’t mind driving now that downloading audiobooks from the library to my phone and playing them via bluetooth in the car has made it so easy. And like everyone one else, I’ve been known to say, “Leave me alone, I’m reading!”

11 thoughts on “Friday Fun — When I absolutely LOVE the book I’m reading …

  1. … My eyes sometimes fly across a page when I am engrossed in a wonderful book, But, my level of anxiety starts to rise when a book, daily routine, task, etc., starts to predominate my time, upsetting my sense of balance {sigh, back to the drawing board}

    • Sometimes temporarily upsetting your balance is a great way to gain new perspective. As a creature of habit (big time!), I totally understand where you’re coming from, but I’ve also found that throwing caution to the wind now and again usually turns out to be a good thing. 😉

      • Oh! I LOVE Women Who Run With the Wolves … maybe I’ll dig out my copy as well. Thank YOU. 🙂

  2. Well said, everyone! I can absolutely relate, especially to Jamie Wallace’s slowing down at the end to stall the inevitable goodbye. The last book that had me shrugging off reality was Elizabeth Berg’s The Art of Mending. Read in one belligerent sitting!

    • “… one belligerent sitting” <– I love that description! 🙂

      I only just read my first Elizabeth Berg novel (A Year of Pleasures) and was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I'll have to check out some of her other titles, perhaps starting with The Art of Mending.

      Happy reading!

  3. it is a lovely question – I’ve been lucky enough to read two of those books in a row recently – The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert and Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks. So…my house is not that clean, dinner has been very basic and I’ve been staying up late 🙂

  4. When I first start on a new book, it has to have a great hook. 🙂 If that’s the case it draws me in. Then I will take ‘huge gulps’, but know that when I have other more necessary responsibilities and cannot put off things any longer that is when I have to put down the book, do my chores or whatever I have procrastinated long enough and then I go back to the book and it will be a faster read if it keeps my interest. Then when I am done I will sometimes be disappointed that I finished it so soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

