Friday Fun — If you could change any book’s ending

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Without including any spoilers, name a book whose ending you’d like to change and why you’d want to change it. (Tough assignment, I know, but you can do it!)

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: There are a million books I’d like to change the ending of. Any character I grew to love, (There are so many!) I would make sure they made it to the end of the book hale and hearty. It’s difficult to pick one book, given the “no-spoiler” rule, but I do remember hucking The Once and Future King across the room when I got to a certain horrible part in the middle. If you’ve read it, I think you’ll know what part I’m talking about. I read it as a kid and I was devastated by what happened. If I could, I’d go back and change that part. It took me weeks before I would go back to the book and start reading again.

 

wendy-shotWendy Thomas – Oh there are a few. Old Yeller probably tops the list (but now as an adult, I understand why it had to happen, but still, sheeesh.) Harry Potter – I didn’t want an ending, I wanted the stories to magically keep on going forever.

Also, while it’s not a book, the story that is Dead Poets Society is a heart breaker, again I understand that the ending had to happen the way it did, but for the love of all that is good, I wish the father had let up, just a little bit. For goodness sake, give the kid a break.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Friday Fun — If you could change any book’s ending

  1. I would change the ending to the Dreamers series by David and Leigh Eddings. My main problem with it was that their desire for true love happy endings got away with them in this one and they created a massive plot hole getting the ending. Though the existing ending was a sad one, it felt more real then their tacked on ending. Generally I simply pretend the last couple of chapters don’t exist when I think about this series and its wonderful with that.

  2. Sutton by JR Moehringer. The book was very well-written but I had hoped the story would end differently. This book was based on a true story, so his hands were somewhat tied as an author but I was still rooting for a happier ending the whole way through. However, I still loved this book!

  3. Oh “A Farewell to Arms”, “A Farewell to Arms,” and “A Farewell to Arms.” Bradley Cooper in “Silver Lining’s Playbook” perfectly describes my reaction to the ending of that book. I loved it the whole way through, but I understand how Hemingway rewrote the ending so many times…

  4. I would like to change the ending of the novel, “To Kill a Mocking Bird”.

    I would rewrite the ending to show an adult Scout graduating from college to work in a law firm that took on the Tom Robbins case win his release from prison many years after being incarcerated.

    I believe this would provide a learning lesson for Scout to see how the justice system should work.

  5. “Taking Chances” and “Stealing Harper” they are the same book ftom diferent pov so they both had to be cganges

Leave a Reply

