Leankit – Electronic To-Do list manager

Every once in a while, you come across a tool that you just need to crow about.

A little background – every morning, I sit down and write my to-do list. In the past, I’d either write it in a notebook or on separate index cards.

Trouble was, if I lost the cards or notebook – well you know that expression, out of sight, out of mind – I’d lose track of my tasks. I also used white index cards, where one card looked like another. I never knew *at a glance* who needed what. What I needed to do was just a big pile of sameness. It was an adequate (not great) system, as long as I didn’t misplace anything or have a priority that I had forgotten about.

I’m not ever sure how I found the website, but I one day stumbled across Leankit at leankit.com.

Can I just say that *this* is an amazing piece of software?

In a nutshell, when you call up the tool, you create and title a board (graph) with columns. I have one board created called “Writing Assignments”, but I could easily have created other boards for some of my bigger projects. When you create the board, you either use a provided template (like I did) with the columns “To Do”, “Doing”, and “Done” or you individualize a template to your specifications.

There is a little bit of set up, you need to create cards for your board. Each card has a category (ex., Book Reviews) and a color. Don’t worry if you left some out like I did, you can always add them later. Once your categories are set up, you start adding cards to your board.

When you have a new task, add a card to your board by clicking on the column and entering a title and description if you want ( I find that the title is good enough for me) in the pop-up window. Be careful to keep one task on each card and to make the task something that can be accomplished. I recently found myself creating a card that could only be accomplished by completing two tasks. What if I only got to finish one of the tasks? Where did the card then go? Avoid this by being careful with how you word your cards. Leankit will hold all of your cards in your designated columns until you move them.

Some of my projects (like articles scheduled for November) don’t need to be done right now so they stay in my “To Do” column. But the projects that I need to get done this week, all go into the middle “Doing” Column. Once a task is completed (and only when it is completed) I move the card over to the “Done” column (just click and drag.)

At the end of the week, I look at each “Done” card and it either gets archived or, as in the case of a monthly column, it gets moved back over to the “To Do” column.

Leankit is free for individual use (if you want several users, as in an office situation, there is a fee.) I keep it running in an open window whenever my laptop is on. Whenever I find myself with some time, I call up my list and there is usually a task I can fit in.

This is only my second week using it, but I have to say that between Leankit visually reminding me of what I need to do, and the kids being back at school (which allows me to *do* what I need to do) I’m taking no prisoners on my to-do list. Last week I completed 27 writing tasks.

I’m still and always will be a paper/calendar/planner type of gal, but as far as keeping on top of tasks on my to-do list, I’m going Leankit all the way.

Go ahead and take Leankit for a spin, let me know how it works for you.

And now it’s time to move my “NHWN Thursday Post” card into the “Done” column.

Note: I am not affiliated with Leankit and have not received any kind of compensation for this post.

Simply passing on good information when I find it.

***

Wendy Thomas is an award winning journalist, columnist, and blogger who believes that taking challenges in life will always lead to goodness. She is the mother of 6 funny and creative kids and it is her goal to teach them through stories and lessons.

Wendy’s current project involves writing about her family’s experiences with chickens (yes, chickens). (www.simplethrift.wordpress.com) She writes about her chickens for GRIT, Backyard Poultry, Chicken Community, and Mother Earth News.

11 thoughts on “Leankit – Electronic To-Do list manager

  1. Hey, cool – sounds great. I’m currently using the list tool on my ipod – it works okay for me so far, but when things get a bit more hectic, that sounds like a good one to use.

  2. Wow, this sounds like a great program (for a lot of things, but I’d use it for writing and deadline purposes too). Thank you for the link and the description of it. I’ll definitely have a look.

  3. Reblogged this on Momentary Musings and commented:
    Ran across this review on an interesting piece of software. In my old(er) age *wink*, I find myself in desperate need to get organized! Being a right-brain kind of guy, I REALLY need help with this!

    I think I’ll try it. Not sure which platform it works on (Mac-PC) but it looks like something that could work!

  4. Hi Everyone, and thanks for the kind words about LeanKit, Wendy. I’m Chris Hefley, a co-founder at LeanKit.

    In answer to some of the questions raised in the comments, LeanKit runs in any modern web browser on Mac and PC. It also has companion application for iOS (iPhone and iPad) and Android. Both are available in the app stores…just search for “LeanKit”.

    One nifty feature I thought would be of interest to this community is the ability to email a task directly to your LeanKit board. Check out the “add cards via email” section of the following page: http://leankit.com/blog/2014/07/recent-enhancements-leankit/

    Thanks again. I’m glad to see LeanKit being introduced to a whole new group of folks in the professional writing community!

    To learn more about LeanKit, follow us on twitter (@LeanKit), check out our facebook page (facebook.com/leankit) or our blog (leankit.com/blog).

Leave a Reply

