Remember to Make Time for Yourself, Not Only Work and Family

We talk a lot about managing time here. About setting small goals to realize our big goals. We’ve even chatted about how if you do what you love, it won’t seem like work.

I recently came across Meg Cadoux Hirshberg‘s work-life balance interview with Ari Weinzweig on Inc.com and it touched on all of these things and is definitely worth sharing.

You can find it here: http://www.inc.com/meg-hirshberg/I-never-fight-time-the-way-I-used-to.html.

It’s a short interview, but what particularly caught my interest was her question and his answer about how to make good use of the time you have.

We all have 24 hours in a day.

TryingtoControlTimeWe can schedule our lives down to the minute and feel productive, yet unsatisfied and having a feeling of lack.

We make time for work and family without a second thought.

Making time for ourselves is as important as work and family, yet it’s the first thing sacrificed when time seems to run out. Is this true for you?

It used to be true for me, but since becoming self-employed I’ve shifted my thinking and strive for balance as often as possible. After all, if I’m not at my best, neither are the other areas of my life.

It’s all about balance, of course, and some days it may be a lot easier to have everything flowing in harmony. I believe with practice and the mind shift to realizing life is too short to have it full of “I wish I had…” or “I should have…” or “If only I had…” statements, that each of us can remove that feeling of lack or dissatisfaction.

We make our own choices and not every decision will be 100% satisfying, but I bet by respecting time and striving for the best soul-fulfilling options we can, we’ll find more happiness.

Life is what we make it, right? So why not strive to make it as good as possible?

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She admits to using downtime to clean her home, but swears it’s more play than work. You can connect with her on Twitter, FacebookGoogle+, and LinkedIn.

30 thoughts on “Remember to Make Time for Yourself, Not Only Work and Family

  1. Pingback: Good to be back :) | A Writer's Life For Me.

  2. Hi Lisa. Most of the time, it seems like we push the string for a while, and then move on to the next fire. And, after a while, if we haven’t forgotten, we go back to that string. Sometimes, we get to finish it. Silent

  3. Pingback: Good to be back :)

  4. This post has just come along when I am struggling (feeling very down) to find time to get to my novel. With the very frequent and somewhat irritating question from people who have no idea of what it takes to be a writer – “Have you finished your book yet,” which comes with a look of disdain when I tell them I haven`t. I will try to digest this advice and adhere to it.

    • One possible reply to that question could be “Not yet, but I’m loving the process.” I used to take that question personally — as in feeling like a failure if the answer was ‘no’. But that’s not it at all. Non writers can’t understand writers or what we go through. I hope you can find time to get back to your project. 🙂

  5. Great advice but it is difficult to make it happen, though I do treat myself to an hour away at a gym twice a week. Sounds silly but for me it is great to mix with a bunch of people who have such varied lives. Sometimes they spark ideas other times I simply enjoy their company.

  6. Great post. I agree that giving time to yourself is the best way to achieve your goals.

    I am often reminded of the advice stewards give in planes: if you have a child with you and need to put his/her oxygen mask, FIRST put yours and then take care of your child’s. I know I am extrapolating here, but in my mind, in order to guarantee your child’s safety and well being, you need to take care of yourself first.

  7. It is so easy to sacrifice time for yourself. There are times when I skip meals because I’m so busy doing stuff. But, I think if I took more time out of my day for myself, I’d be even more productive.

Leave a Reply

