Friday Fun – One Perfect Thing

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What is one perfect thing in your life? Not a person, but an item you own that is simply your favorite. Author Deborah Crombie’s is an Emma Bridgewater teapot. Hallie Ephron’s is a red fleece coat she’s had for over 20 years.

wendy-shotWendy Thomas – you know the mom in me wants to say my kids, all of them. But I get what is being asked here and this is a tough one because I am a very tactile person. I love to have *things.* My things remind me of experiences and at times, just holding one can calm me down. I’d say that the items I’ve had the longest at some of my most perfect things – the tiny felted witch doll that stands and looks over my writing, a bottle of perfume I got when I was in Paris, the china teacup my son got me for my birthday that reads, “I love you this much”, the trolls saved from my childhood, and a stone with the word “strength” engraved on it are all on my top  10 list.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I have a necklace that I wear several times a week. It is a Betsy Johnson, and I got it on wicked sale. I almost passed it by, but my mother made me buy it. “If anyone can pull that off, it’s you.” She was right. It has lots of different colored beads on wires, and is a strong piece that goes with anything. In my younger days, I wore pearls every day and had red hair. These days the hair is white, but the beads have a ton of color.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I love things that are useful, so right now I’d say my perfect item is the jog-stroller I’ve been using to run with my son since he was about a year old. He’s going to outgrow it soon, so that makes it a little more special. I know the days are numbered when I can run with my son–until he starts running along next to me, that is!

.

.

.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa_oldManLisa J. Jackson: Mine is a 16″ x 20″ counted cross stitch creation I spent a couple of years stitching as a teen. I had it professionally framed and it’s always in a prominent room so I can see it every day. The image is a weathered old bearded fisherman in yellow slicker and hat, smoking a pipe, looking at an unknown view. It’s a combination of the image that originally captured my attention, and knowing how many hours of stitching I did by counting every little square that makes it special. I love seafaring stories and this image leaves a lot to my imagination.

7 thoughts on “Friday Fun – One Perfect Thing

  1. What an excellent question. And I have to say that this would be answered differently if you asked me tomorrow. I wish I could include a picture but i have a 9 foot long solid wood restored work bench, (complete with stainless steel patches and holes from machinery) that is my dining room table. It seats ten easily and is frequently filled with Sunday people. It encourages pauses. I would go so far as to say – that this table has changed my life. yes. My table is my most perfect thing today.. c

  2. Gosh 🙂 my iPad mini 🙂 the oil painting of my son’s third birthday party that my grandmother painted, a beautiful Peruvian opal necklace a friend gave me…oh I love beautiful things!

  3. Where do I begin? The amethyst birthstone ring that was my Grandmother’s, My Mom’s first wedding band, My brother’s drumsticks, Two Waterford Crystal Wine Goblets that were purchased for our One Year Wedding Anniversary and my camera … Those are the items that come to mind …

  4. My bottle of “Tea Rose” perfume from the Perfumer’s Workshop. It’s a single note, old, old formula that’s been sold since long before I was thought of. I have worn it for years, and always smell like a bouquet of cut fresh from the garden’s warm sun roses! Perfect

  5. When I read the question, it immediately drew my attention.

    One of my oldest perfect possesions for the past twenty plus years I use to this day, is my 1991, Ford Explorer, I purchased in the 1990’s, It has traveled as far west as South Dakota puling an RV, and traveled along the east-coast from New York to Florida.

    Since my employer provided me a car for daily use, the old Explorer sat idle for a number of years in the garage only to be taken out for long trips and an occasional jaunt into the VA country side and again whenever the 4-wheek drive was needed.

    As I prepared to retire, family and friends tried to convince me to trade my perfect work horse in for another. But my loyalty to her has never wavered because she is perfect, especially since I have no car payment.

  6. My ‘perfect’ items are many as I love to have things to look at or hold onto, touch as well. I have a ring of my grandmothers that has five turquoise stones in it that I never take off– I have loved turquoise since I was very small and I just feel peaceful having this ring; I have my baby blanket that my other grandmother made me ( pretty ragged) but it gives me a sense of security; I have my medals from high school when I was in band- a reminder of perfection as they were ‘superiors’and a time of enjoyment and happiness for me. These items and some others I have collected that have quotes on them that life me up, keep me going on rough days are just enough 🙂 just those perfect things when other parts aren’t so perfect. 🙂

Leave a Reply

