Friday Fun — Chores

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What chore do you absolutely dislike doing? Conversely – do you have a chore that you absolutely enjoy?

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: I absolutely hate housework. All kinds. (and if you walked into my house it wouldn’t come as a surprise.) It’s not that I don’t like living in a clean and tidy house, I do, it’s just that it can be so bone-crunchingly frustrating to spend time cleaning up an area and then have the rest of the family walk through and drop things here, leave dirty dishes where they had last used them, and not pick up anything. And the stuff that comes into a house when 8 people live there, it is often overwhelming and it seems to spontaneously grow. I mean why even bother, right?

I’d rather be writing or reading.

I suppose this is the universal cry of all mothers, but I also think that this is what drives my desire to live in a tiny house by myself someday (you can visit, you just need to knock first.) I just want my things in the places where I expect them to be.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I put off cleaning as long as possible. For me, cleaning is like shopping — I really need to be in the mood for it. (Yes, I’m a woman who doesn’t enjoy shopping – for anything.) Once in the mood, I love to clean — what’s not to love about making dust, grime, and ickiness into shiny and bright, right? But it usually takes me a while to get into a mood to clean. September and February are cleaning months for me – Sept because I feel it’s a time of renewal and I enjoy swapping out regular sheets for flannel sheets – February because by that time of year I’m ready for winter to be over and warm weather (and color) to come along. I don’t need to dust or vacuum or do anything else on a regular basis since my cat really doesn’t care how the place looks. 😉

.

.


Susan Nye:
Love to cook … hate to clean.

.

.

.
.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: My favorite chore is laundry because it mostly does itself. Sure, I have to put forth a little effort to load the machine, separate the dryer-safe items from the drip-dry ones, and – eventually – fold the clean clothes; but – overall – it’s a chore that requires comparatively little elbow grease. Scrubbing the bathrooms, on the other hand, is the epitome of an elbow-grease job. Yuck.

Still, although I always feel WAY behind in my domestic chores, I actually enjoy doing them when I have the time. There are few things more satisfying than making our little corner of the world extra cozy by spiffing up and straightening, freshening and brightening. A little spit and polish goes a long way to bringing me peace and contentment.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Chores

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one dreaming of a hermit’s life in a minimalist house with very few possessions to collect dust. After all, what more do you need than notebooks, pens and a few books, right?

  2. I love cleaning out and organizing closets (and pantries and even the fridge). I get great satisfaction out of simplifying- It is energizing to get rid of what we don’t love or need. The less stuff in the house better-easier and less to clean and more space- physically and mentally- for what we really want!

  3. Like Jamie, my most disliked chore is the bathroom, especially the toilet and bath. I probably enjoy the washing the most…but most chores are okay once started and I’m in the mood for them.

  4. I hate sorting out my wardrobe! My clothes get into such a muddle and I usually end up wearing the same old things because I’m just not organised. I know I bought a couple of new tops but I just can’t find them in my muddle!

  5. Its great to find you all together, LOL! I have enjoyed your blog so very much and look forward to every entry from each ot you! Because of that, I have nonminated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award”! You deserve it and much more! There are responsibilities that come with the Award which you can read about on my page: http://heart2heartstories.com/2014/09/27/receiving-the-one-lovely-blog-award/

    Thank you for all you do, and congratulations! Helen

  6. Pingback: More Housecleaning | jean's writing

Leave a Reply

