Friday Fun — Getting Hither and Yon

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What’s your favorite way to get about town? Your favorite mode of transportation?

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: In Boston,  I have two favorite modes of transport. Public transportation, the T, either train or bus, is a great way to get around from meeting to meeting. But my favorite is to walk. I try to reach 10,000 steps a day (FitBit!), but that is a tough goal. I will say, as a walker, it is hard to be fashionable from the ankles down. For leisure, I drive when needed, but prefer being a passenger. I used to love to fly, but these days prefer trains if possible–better for writing time.

 

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: Like Julie, I also have a FitBit and try to get 10K steps a day. (trust me when you’re a writer who sits in front of a computer, sometimes that’s not easy.) On the weekends, my husband and I try to go somewhere just so we can get our steps in. As I live in a residential area, I use my car (new favorite is our Bright Red Kia), but if we’re talking about absolute favorite modes of transportation, nothing beats being on a bike (I have the “Murder-she-wrote-upright kind of bike) to see what’s going on around town.

 

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I drive around town in my Volvo station wagon, which I love. Every once in a while, as I’m driving, I think: “I’m so lucky to have a reliable car to get around in.” My brother-in-law is a Boston firefighter and he once told me he’s pulled many people out of cars after accidents and when it’s a Volvo, they are much more likely to be able to walk away. That sold me on the Volvo as my next car.

When I first moved to Nashua, in 2006, we lived in the Clocktower apartments and I loved being able to walk to Main St. and do my errands. I’ve lived in Manhattan and Brooklyn, where I also walked and took public transportation, which I miss being able to do. I have to make a conscious effort to get my exercise in here in the suburbs, but I love to be outside so I get to Mine Falls and run a few times a week. In a pinch, I’ll do laps around my little dead-end street to get some miles in!

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I love walking whenever I can, it gives me time to enjoy the fresh air and disconnect from the Internet of Things. I lived on an old farm growing up with a lot of land. I spent hours exploring the woods and just listening and soaking up my surroundings. It was so blissful.

I enjoy cycling, but don’t do it nearly as often as I’d like any more — too many distracted drivers on the road for me to feel as confident as I’d like.

I mostly drive and have a super-reliable Honda; if it was economical I’d prefer a Jeep or a large pickup truck, though. I wish I enjoyed being a passenger in any vehicle (auto, plane, train, boat…) but I don’t, unless I’m medicated to avoid motion issues!  A dream is to find a community to live in that had all I needed and where I didn’t need motorized transportation. Walking, to me, is the best way to get around.

M. Shafer, Photo

M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin: I’m a walker, hiker and biker, but I live in a rural area and simply can’t get anywhere without starting the car. I used to think that driving was the biggest waste of time ever, until I bought a car with Bluetooth. Now, I look forward to the next chapter of whatever audiobook I’ve downloaded from the library. Nothing like stories to change attitude!

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Getting Hither and Yon

  1. I totally depends on where I am at the time. If I am home in Ft. Worth, TX driving is usually the best option. If you are in downtown Dallas, the train is also a great option. If I am up in Queens visiting my son at St. John’s then definitely cabbing, the subway system or The Long Island Railroad.

  2. Locally, I get dragged behind a large dog (cooler weather finally arrive) as it’s very walkable here. But going to the big city, prefer a tall strong (but not monster size) SUV crossover: lot of large trucks, and wild drivers….and you need a cooler for water and a lunch in case a wreck closes thing down for a bit

Leave a Reply

