A Day as a Social Media Maven

Last Friday I had the wonderful experience of posting to a company’s Facebook and Twitter accounts for a day.

The company, actually an airport, had their 5th Customer Appreciation Day. This was my second year assisting with their social media activities. And, honestly, it was so much fun I can’t wait until next year.

Social media mavens early in the day

Social media mavens early in the day

These are my 3 big business-related takeaways:

  • Even if your company is equally active on Facebook and Twitter, a one-day event may not result in equal activity on each platform.

For the most part, we posted to Facebook and Twitter at similar times and with similar calls-to-action. We quickly realized Facebook users interacted with us the most. (Last year it was a 50/50 split). So, even if you have a Plan Of Action for the day based on past experience, one platform may leap ahead of the other. (this can apply to any social media platforms, of course).

  • The more you interact with those who reply to you, the more interaction you will get.

It was easy early on to post a question and reply to each person who gave feedback (on both platforms), but as the day progressed and more people became involved, well, you can imagine, it was difficult to keep up. But replying to customers who take time to talk to you is critical to running your business. They need to know you’re there and that you’re listening. And in social media, your public reply to one person is magnified when seen by that person’s connections.

  • If you ask the right question at the right time, feedback can explode!

As the day came to an end, we posed the question “How can we serve you better?” On Facebook, most of our posts during the day averaged 250 ‘people reached’. This one question is still receiving comments and has exceeded 11,100 ‘people reached’. Even without knowing the intricacies of Facebook’s algorithms, this is significant. Ask your customers what they want, and they will tell you.

And I have to add a personal takeaway:

  • Sit properly and get up from the chair now and then.

I literally sat on the edge of my seat all day instead of firmly planted in it and using the back rest. At the end of the day, had a stiffness from the left side of my neck down to my lower back. I did get up on occasion for bathroom and food breaks, but apparently sat twisted on the edge of the chair looking down to the left (at my notes) for too long. Note to self: You need to step away from the keyboard, stretch, breath, and hydrate — even during social media binges. It’s so easy to get caught up in the speed of live interactions on social media!

>>>What social media platform gives you (and your company) the best results?

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She loves researching topics, interviewing experts, and helping companies tell their stories. You can connect with her on TwitterFacebookGoogle+, and LinkedIn.

9 thoughts on “A Day as a Social Media Maven

    • I’ve been so busy with my head down this week that I’ve taken to setting a timer for 30 minutes…snapping me out of poor posture and reminding me to at least stand up for a couple of minutes! It works when I don’t simply shut it off and keep working 🙂

  1. Great post! Although I am very fond of Twitter and prefer it to other platforms, it has been my experience that Facebook seems to be the preferred platform although it must be said it does have a lot to do with the industry. For example one of my clients is in Finance and LinkedIn is where she connects the most with existing and potential clients.

    • Different platforms are better for different businesses and interactions…LinkedIn is my favorite for business-related connections; Facebook for developing friendships, and Twitter I find is best for me when I’m “in the moment” whether Tweeting from an event or as part of a digital or virtual event. Google+ has a lot of features I haven’t taken full use of. I’ve had several virtual meetings with G+ and they’ve worked wonderfully.

  2. Hi Lisa. I always wanted to know a maven. Not only that…a social maven. Now I can die. well…I’ve still got one or two things on the list. 🙂

    I’ve heard the kids have moved to twitter and their parents are on facebook now. Any thoughts on that?

    Silent

    • Hi Silent. I’m glad you can now check ‘meet a maven’ off your bucket list! Happy to help!

      I don’t know about the kids/Twitter parents/Facebook — it sounds like it could be true. I have no kids in my circles so can’t speak from even a touch of experience on that one. But I do see more and more ‘older folks’ getting on FB — people my age getting their parents up-to-date with technology and all. 🙂

  3. Really enjoyed that post! It gave me a chuckle when I got to the part about standing up and stretching a bit! I have a herniated C6 and my shoulder is out of socket due to being hit by a car a few years ago in November and breaking all the bones in my body except my right arm. So I know about correct posture…I have no choice in the matter. I can stand all day long and not have major pain issues. When I go to sit down, I get the tingly and numbness and pain back that are the symptoms of neuropathy. I can tell you from what you described in your post…any pain or numb or tingliness going down your left arm, is from your C6 in your neck. All tendons, muscles, and nerves in your left shoulder, arm, and hand to fingertips are attached to your C6. It is repairable by proper nutrition and essential nutritients that your body needs. And a solid naturopathic chiropractor can help get it back in place. Don’t ever let the Doctors lie to you and tell you that you need surgery…they are full of it. As long as there is blood in your bones, there is life in your bones and they WILL regrow. They have lied for decades saying that bone won’t regrow and it will.

    Thank you for the post. If you want to know more, let me know..it’s what I do!

    Susan
    PowerSportsNutrition…(https//powersportsnutrition.wordpress.com)

    • Wow, Susan. Thank you for the comment. I still haven’t quite worked out all the stiffness on the left side, so will look more into what you’ve mentioned. Massages only go so far, a chiropractor may be what I need… and a bit more exercise! thanks so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

