Friday Fun — If You Could Learn Anything…

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: If you could learn about and master anything, what would that be, and why?

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I would absolutely love to learn how the brain works. It’s such a powerful organ yet it’s difficult to know how much of it we’re actually using. Are there portions of it we could have removed with no effect? Are there ways to use it to its full potential? Is there a way to use the brain’s power beyond 100%? I really want to know. Science has never been a strong subject for me, but learning all about the brain and how it works is something I’d absolutely love love love to know and share with anyone else who’d like to know.

For now I enjoy doing different types of puzzles and reading new-to-me topics — when I can feel my brain ache a bit, I know I’m exercising it — and I love that feeling.

 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: Oh! This is a Tough One. Because my curiosity makes me want to Learn. All. The. Things. Dozens of skills spring to mind: ballroom dancing, French cooking, speaking the French language, speed reading, ridiculously flexible yoga, kick ass meditation techniques … oh, so many things. I’ll be honest, though, the first thing that popped into my head was martial arts. I’ve always wished I was the kind of gal who could surprise the hell out of a would-be attacker by going all Ninja. Hmmm … interesting that “writing flawless novels” didn’t even occur to me.

 

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: Epidemiology. (I know, I know, how weird is that?)  The absolute best class I ever took was a graduate course on Epidemiology. It was tough, but I did well because I loved the material. To be an epidemiologist  you have to understand trends, you have to look at statistics and come up with theories, and you have to be a world class detective to figure out how a disease or condition was passed. I am having the time of my life right now following this Ebola outbreak (and I mean that in a tongue-in-cheek way – of course the impact on people and communities is devastating.) If I could I’d go back to study the field full-time.

I used to be able to tell my kids that in the HISTORY of mankind, only one person has survived rabies. Since I learned that fact in my class, however, in the last few years a 15 year old girl managed to survive. So now there are two. Bring that little fact to your next party and watch other people be amazed.

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I’d like to go to culinary school and master cooking. I love to cook and I love to try new recipes, but I’d love to be so knowledgeable and facile with cooking that I can whip together a delicious, simple meal in 30 minutes. Usually, I can’t. I can make some great meals, but I need time to make it all happen. And sauces, I’d love to be able to throw together a great sauce, but it’s all a mystery to me right now.

I used to think I’d go back to school and get a masters in creative writing, but these days I feel I’m better off just writing as much as possible.

 

M. Shafer, Photo

M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin: I’d like to relearn French, in which I was once fluent, because I hate that I’ve lost it. And maybe learn Spanish and Italian, too. Spanish because it’s so part of our culture, and Italian because it’s so melodic (and I love opera). I’d also like to learn how to play the piano better, including improvisation. Currently, I’m practicing yoga and crosswords – both new to me. But mostly, I’m open to learn whatever it is that comes my way, including how to use technology better. As of yesterday, I’m signed up on twitter! Follow me! @debluskin

 

15 thoughts on “Friday Fun — If You Could Learn Anything…

  1. For me it’s Math. Or rather, an enjoyment, appreciation and understanding of math! It’s what I hated in school more than gym class! And, though using most of those dingy theories in real life has panned out to in fact, Mr Bogan, never happen–math was a huge stumbling block for me in College. Ah, but if wishes were horses, beggars would ride…right? Maybe I wouldn’t be writing now if math wasn’t such a mystery, so I suppose there’s an up and a down to every want and wish 🙂

  2. Mandarin, French, Arabic, Italian and German, to add to my three languages. Well I would love to know them all but I would be happy with these five, would know eight languages and that would mean I was very bright hahaha

  3. I have no rhythm whatsoever and I have two left feet. So, I would like to learn how to dance. Ballroom dancing in particular. Latin dances like tango, paso doble, rumba, samba jive… I want to master them all!

  4. I would really love to master the art of playing the piano. I adore music and can manage to strum away at a guitar – although I never did get to grips with the finger-picking. But a piano is something quite different. My mum played the piano beautifully, and the memories of her playing in the evenings are with me still. She could play ‘by ear’ and seemed to be able to play any tune she had heard without the aid of a sheet of music. If only I had half her skill!

  5. LANGUAGES! I would have a really hard time picking just one language to learn, but… latin. Just to understand the structure, and be able to see the influence it has had on our modern languages would be a daily thrill (I am a person who has been know to read the dictionary FOR FUN! Yeah, I’m THAT cool. Admit it, you’re dying to hang with me).

  6. Great question as always! The first thing that came to mind was pottery – i will definitely do that one day. Also…I’d love to study literature and poetry, just because, and I’d love to do a barista course so I could make kickass coffee!

  7. If i could learn anything i would like to learn to play the piano fluently and i would love to master the language of love (french) 😉

Leave a Reply

