Go, NaNoWriMo Participants!

It’s almost November 1st—a thrilling time of year! I love the idea of National Novel Writing Month and I love that the only criteria for winning is to “have written” 50,000 words by November 30th.

Quantity over quality for one month gives you a lot of material to work with for the next eleven months.

I know this and that’s why I’m excited about NaNo—even though I haven’t signed up.

When I look at my life realistically, I know I’m not going to be able to write 50,000 words this November, so I’m not even going to try.

What I am going to do is host a couple of write-ins for those brave souls in my area who make that amazing commitment. While I’m with them, I’ll put aside my regular life and write with them as if I was on my way to 50,000 words.

20,000 words in the month of November would be a win for me. So would 10,000 words.

I’m using the energy and excitement of NaNo to fuel my writing. Just being in the month of November prompts me to do word sprints, to shut off my computer screen so I can’t edit as I write, and to turn off the Internet so I can get some words on the page.

Are you doing NaNo? If yes, congratulations! I’m cheering you on. If no, what are you doing this November with your writing? And I’m still cheering you on!

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD: is a writer, blogger, life coach, physician, mother, and stepmother. I love contributing to this blog because it helps me keep my writing a priority when I know so many others are out there getting the words down on the page! Happy Halloween!

 

 

24 thoughts on “Go, NaNoWriMo Participants!

  1. I will be joining NaBloPoMo this November, same as I did this month and will participate in other challenges out there to practice/hone/develop/improve my writing skills to gear up for NaNo later next year. Hopefully I will be ready by then.

    • Hi impossiblebebong,
      I didn’t know about NaBloPoMo until I read your comment (on October 30th) and I immediately looked it up and got all excited about joining in–then I realized the same reality that prevents me from joining NaNo would also prevent me from completing NaBloPoMo. But I’m keeping it in mind for, say, January?

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting and I hope your month of blogging is going well!

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi periwinkleblur,
      Congrats on joining NaNo! How’s it going? It’s November 16th, so you must be 25,000 words in, right? If not, no worries. I once wrote 35,000 words on the last weekend of NaNo.

      Good luck!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. I started writing my second book. two weeks ago. I am presently researching and outlining the novel I am writing. There is no way I can complete the manuscript before the end of November. My outline will (I hope) should be complete by November’s end, however the novel is going to be a non-fictional account blended into a fictional story covering four generations of a family whose lives were tragically ended with the advent of Manifest Destiny. The research is consuming the lion share of my time,but it is well worth the effort.
    Quoting Emerson: “No kernel of nourishing corn can come to him but through his toil bestowed on that plot of ground which is given him to till.”

    My first book was hastily written as a result I sacrificed the time it took to fully question the characters in the story as per a blog concerning Getting to know your characters. Excellent advice!! I am taking the time necessary to incorporate the criteria necessary for the novel I am presently writing.
    Terrance Tracy

    • Hi Terrance,
      Wow, your second book! Sounds like you learned a lot from writing the first one and the second one sounds fascinating!

      Best wishes!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  3. Hi Diane. I’m excited about writers diving into NaNoWriMo. Last year, as I was teetering on serious writerdom, I heard about it, but I was too deep in my first ever WIP to stop and join in. I finished more or less when NaNoWriMo did, and I knew how elating everyone felt. I hope everyone who has never written that many words, or finished their project takes their chance and does it.

    Silent

    • Hi Silent,
      It’s such a great accomplishment, to write 50,000 words, and to know so many others are doing the same thing is really inspiring!

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  4. If I wasn’t desperately trying to finish off the second book of my trilogy by Christmas, I’d really love to have a go at NaNo. I wish everyone who enters the very best of luck.

    • Hi milliethom,
      Sounds like you are doing your own version of NaNo. Best wishes for your book and happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. This is the first I have heard of NaNo and it is nothing but inspiring. I applaud everyone that accepts this challenge and hopefully one day I can venture out myself. Good luck and happy writing!

    • Hi kquandt2014,
      The first time I heard about NaNo I didn’t think I’d ever do it, but just knowing a bunch of people (new writers, too!) were doing it made it seem more real to me. It took a lot of work and I let a lot of things slide when I was doing NaNo, but it was totally worth it.

      One day, I bet you’ll be a NaNo winner. In the meantime, keep writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  6. Reblogged this on Jaime Abalonne and commented:
    I love the idea of supporting others to write no matter what your goal is!

    The energy of NaNoWriMo is one of the driving forces behind me starting to blog after also 3 year hiatus.

    I have no desire to write a novel. I took many creative writing course in my first years of college and I couldn’t stand writing fiction. I wrote poetry and creative non-fiction. Fiction made me want to gouge my eyes out with a rusty fork. No, thank you.

    I do however, believe in the power of the word.

    The power of LOTS of words.

    Lots of words to get to the meanings, to the images, to the thoughts that power us to say, “Yes!” to our desires.

    I have many words in me. And I have only had Facebook as my companion in this journey for the last few years.

    While I love me some Facebook, it is not the same as a place where all your writings, thoughts and pictures come together into a coherent form that others can dive into and learn from.

    So it is Nov 4th, and I just signed up on the NaNoWriMo site.

    Will I use it? Not sure. I do dig me some achievement badges. and community. And oh yeah, writing.

    The best thing that this campaign has going is that it has a container! I ❤ Containers!

    Here is to writing! Whatever your goal is!

    Love,
    Jaime

    Your Turn

    Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? What about it do you dig? What fires you up? Share below and set intentions to spark your desire.

Leave a Reply

