Attention Writers: Posture PSA

If you’re a keyboard jockey like me, you know about the neck, back, and wrist pain that can sneak up on you if you’re not careful. Too many hours contorted by a less-than-ergonomically-ideal set-up can leave you writhing in pain and cursing the gods for making you want to write at all. Ever.

That’s why I just had to share this awesome little video that I discovered on Facebook via writer and creative coach Sharon Abra Hanen. Sharon is a delightful woman whom I met at a Grub Street class a year or two ago. I’m pretty sure she loves writers as much as she loves writing (hence the coaching part of her business). Plus, she has an entire page on her website dedicated to “chocolate!” … so I pretty much think she’s brilliant and take anything she shares as gospel.

Here’s the video:

I guess sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words … and maybe an un-cricked neck and ache-free back, too.

Here’s to happy – HEALTHY – writing. Get those ergonomics working for you!

 

Jamie Lee Wallace is a writer who also happens to be a marketer. She helps her Suddenly Marketing clients discover their voice, connect with their audience, and find their marketing groove. She is also a mom, a prolific blogger, and a student of the equestrian arts, voice, and trapeze (not at the same time). Introduce yourself on facebook or twitter. She doesn’t bite … usually.

32 thoughts on “Attention Writers: Posture PSA

  1. Great reminders, Jamie! The only thing missing is standing up and stretching periodically. I bet there are apps to remind us to stretch and to suggest varied stretches throughout the day.

    I used a fit ball as my computer chair at work after developing chronic neck and shoulder pain. It helped enormously. Fortunately I had my own office so no one saw me rolling backwards over the ball and letting gravity stretch my head and arms !

    I also have a foam roller at home – good for loosening tight muscles. An ice pack helps, too!

    Computer time really can be a ‘killer’ on our body if we don’t consciously take care of it.

    • I think you’re right, Sammy, there ARE apps for that!
      I would love to try the exercise ball thing, but I’m afraid I’d roll right off! My mom uses one sometimes and loves it. I think my cats would laugh at me. 😉

    • I know! I thought that was pretty amazing. The video communicated its message SO clearly, yet there weren’t any words at all. Kind of brilliant.

    • So sorry for what you have to deal with, Linda Lee. I’m glad you found this useful and shared everywhere. Yay! Getting up to move around right now!

  2. Also have OA, also do my PT drills daily, but motion is life, and even how we sit effects motion, so my WiiFit reminds me daily!

    • Sorry to hear that, but glad to know that you’ve found a routine to help you manage it. WiiFit, eh? I may have to look into that.

      • Well you’d want the male avatar to train with, I went for the gal, as it is easier to have a woman politely lie to me about how well I am doing! The guy is handsome!:)

  3. Such an important reminder! I use an extended keyboard and a footstool to achieve good posture – and I’ve become a yoga – maniac! Thanks for the PSA.

    • Ahhh … YOGA! 🙂 I have been slacking Big Time on my usual home practice because of too much work. But, soon – SOON! – I will begin my morning routine again. My body (and mind) need it!

  4. I reposted this on an author website I am working on for author John McLay as “Something for all authors to consider when using the computer.” My back is killing me!

    • Yep. Pretty cool. And even though my set up is not (yet) ideal, I’m definitely more aware of my posture after watching the video & am making little adjustments on my own.

  5. I used to scoff at all the reminders to keep good posture, until I started having back problems from driving with my arms stretched out for too many hours and from carrying tools on my hip. I worry about my son’s neck because he plays video games on a tablet with his head down. I need to use some of these ideas, thanks for sharing!

    • Posture is SO important. I’m lucky because my horseback riding at a young age schooled me in the basics and that kind of stuck. I definitely find, however, that all the time I spend at my desk now puts my early good habits in jeopardy, so it’s time to get proactive about making sure I’m not going down the wrong road.
      And you’re so right about kids (and adults!) doing the head-down-over-tablet thing. I see my daughter (only 10!) doing that and want to snatch the device away so she’ll take a break. Good point!

    • Jeeze but your not right, it’s got me crippled after a couple of paragraphs , so much so that I’m on such powerful pain meds, but mine came from an accident originally and the writing makes it come back with a vengeance, plus I have nerve pressure in my arms and shoulder, but the one thing that helps is relaxation ,breathing and such-like things that calms you because as you write you get tension through tensing up as you press the keys as you make points in your typing .
      But you must keep getting up and walk around every page or so, a pain, I know, no pun intended but if you get into the habit it could help

Leave a Reply

