Friday Fun – If you could create any holiday

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: According to a fun site called Days of the Year, today is Pickle Day, World Diabetes Day, Operating Room Nurse Day, Spicy Guacamole Day, and Loosen Up Lighten Up Day. If you could create any official holiday, what would it be and how would you celebrate?

dll2013Deborah Lee Luskin: How about National Stay Home and Read Day? Celebrants would stay in their pajamas – even stay in bed! – and spend the day reading just for the fun of it.

.

.

.

.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I second Deborah’s suggestion! Disconnect from The Internet of Things and get absorbed into a book or two or three. Although for folks with e-readers, there won’t be any disconnecting. I really like this idea, Deborah!

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: I like holidays where the entire family is involved. When I was younger, I HATED Thanksgiving, we all just sat around and waited, waited, waited for the food to be ready. These days, I LOVE Thanksgiving, it’s a chance to slow down and catch up with whoever comes into the kitchen. We can spend hours sitting at the table talking about family memories. We reconnect.

So along those lines, I’d like to propose a national Picnic Day, when everyone can pack a family picnic, take a walk in the woods, sit down to talk, and maybe even read a book in the shade.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: I would like a holiday that celebrated doing NOTHING. Our world is already full to bursting with things that need doing. Places to go. People to see. All that. I’d like a holiday that gave us permission to indulge in the forgotten art of simply being – one day free of to do lists, agendas, schedules, obligations, chores, even “fun” things to do like celebratory meals or other holiday traditions. That would be, to me, the ultimate party.

11 thoughts on “Friday Fun – If you could create any holiday

  1. Reblogged this on galesmind and commented:
    I would have a national gratitude day. Not thanksgiving with food and family a day to be grateful for what we have. Maybe to celebrate we would share with the less fortunate, go visit someone that has noone in a nursing home, volunteer to teach someone to read. So many things to be grateful for.

  2. Interestingly, my sons and I have invented a holiday–Lego Day, the first Saturday in August (because August has no holidays) on which we dedicate the entire day to building with Lego.

    We have had special themes some years: a zoo, space, Harry Potter, Disneyland, etc. We all build some creation pertaining to the theme. Other years have been more free building.

    Sadly this year we missed our first Lego Day in about a decade as my older son was leaving for college. Still, our family room is filled with semi-organized containers of Lego pieces, so Lego is never far from our mind. And my younger son and I were pondering building something special for Christmas…

  3. I LOVE Deborah’s holiday! I’ll take that any day! Preferably a cold winter day when it’s snowing 🙂 My holiday would be something like Christmas, but instead of being obligated to visit with extending family, you are not allowed to leave your residence. It’s called the “stay at home holiday” also, gift giving would be different. You’re only allowed to buy/ give one gift. I haven’t fully thought out how this would work, but those are my ideas!

  4. I would create “This is not an Official Anything Day” and celebrate by doing the same thing I do on all of the other “Official” days which is nothing 🙂

  5. I like all of these 🙂 I have to confess I do have a few ‘stay home and read’ days in a year… although not combined with disconnecting to the internet – blogs still count as reading! Also love picnics.

  6. Completely and wholeheartedly echo a Reading Day. Without having to worry about work, the phone, cooking, and burrowing one’s nose into a book and taking a break once in a while to brew a cup of tea and savor the joys of a book in one hand and a hot cup on the other. To soak in the aroma from the tea and of holding a hard copy of a book and leafing through the pages, feeling the paper and wondering who else held this book and read it..

Leave a Reply

