Friday Fun — Favorite Hot Drink

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: This week we could no longer deny it. Winter is on its way. Today, let us know what your favorite hot drink is. Let’s crowd source ways to keep warm!

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: I have three hot drinks that get me through this season. First, coffee. But that’s seasonless for me. But during the holidays, I have three words to add to coffee: Egg. Nog. Latte. The second is hot apple cider. I mull it for special ocassions. And throw it in the microwave for every day. And third, Chai Tea Latte. That is an indulgence that I save for special days. I may add a fourth, a decaf London Fog. Earl Grey, steamed milk, vanilla syrup.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: Uh oh. I’m actually not much for hot drinks; I drink iced coffee year round. But now that I’m thinking about it, I really do enjoy hot apple cider, and I have a soft spot for hot chocolate with marshmallows, oh, and I actually enjoy hot herbal teas – always with honey.

I’ve never had egg nog, but I think I might give it a whirl this year.

 

 

 

M. Shafer, Photo

M. Shafer, Photo

Deborah Lee Luskin: Coffee in the morning; black tea in the afternoon; and a hot rum toddy whenever I need to chase the cold from my bones.

.

.

.

.

 

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: For quantity consumed, hot tea (both herbal and not-so-caffeine-free) is definitely at the top of my list, always served with a healthy dollop of local honey. I never acquired a taste for coffee (though I love its aroma), but after a year or so of watching me – a grown woman – order hot chocolate, the baristas at my favorite local coffee shop upgraded me to a cinnamon chai latte. Keeping up my habit may eventually send me to the poorhouse, but – damn! – chai lattes are a tasty treat! I’ll also second Deborah’s thumbs up for the hot toddy, though I usually make mine with whiskey. And, last but not least, a hot whiskey & cider with a cinnamon stick ain’t so bad either … even when you’re not sick. 😉

30 thoughts on “Friday Fun — Favorite Hot Drink

  1. I find the concept of mulled wine and hot toddies strange. Here in sunny east- coastal Australia, we hardly even get cold enough to have anything but tea or coffee (and variants) in the winter.
    I wouldn’t mind tasting some of them, but I think I prefer my white coffee and black tea (no sugar or sweeteners) during the day, and my cool wine in the evenings. 🙂

    • Hello from so far away! 🙂
      Though I do enjoy my hot drinks when the temperatures fall around here, a glass of cool, crisp wine is always a good thing. Salut!

  2. Friday, is my day sortir en BAR ver a small rue close Champs Elysee love going to this bar with music and floor to get down into the floor . And with my favorite WINE and whisky that I hooked till I
    can get someone to talk, laugh and hiss with.

    Happy weekend to all the Madame , in tis trends today. Saying bye till next lovely yeah all .

    • I highly recommend trying the hot toddy. It’s a treat. Glad to bring a little extra fun to your Friday. Thanks for coming by.

  3. Green and White teas for me. The real ones. The sorts that you can only buy in two places here and have to travel far to acquire. They are a bit pricey but worth the trouble and money. There is something calming about preparing a proper tea.

    • I’m actually coveting a nice kettle so that I can boil my water slowly instead of always resorting to the microwave, which seems to detract from the tea experience.

      • I have an Iranian friend who boils water in a pyrex by putting the container just next to a fire. She said it’s better that way. then she will make tea by using two separate glasses, pouring the liquid back and forth, back and fourth before she serves it to me accompanied by amber sugar crystal nuggets. She said you have to put the sugar in your mouth never in the tea to enhance the experience. Though I never understand why she does these rituals, I love watching her performing them.

        My reason-for-living-in Europe swears to filtered water when preparing tea. Using tap water gives this sort of oily residue on the top of freshly made tea especially when you heat the water in the microwave. You have to bend your head a little sideways though when looking or otherwise you will not notice the film is there.

  4. My favorite hot drink is the peppermint hot chocolate from Starbucks, but generally I drink Diet Dr. Pepper even in the cold. I’m in GA, though, so can’t say it gets too cold here. I feel for you guys up North!

    • Oh, yum! How could I forget about hot chocolate with Bailey’s? That’s definitely another one on my favorites list.

    • It’s such a writerly staple. I wish I could stand the taste of the stuff. Happily, I do love the aroma. My daughter can always tell when I’ve been at the coffee shop writing because I come home smelling like dark roast. 😉

  5. Coffee year round, even in the heat of summer when my friends are all drinking it iced. Extra hot chai lattes and extra hot soy lattes for an afternoon treat….and once in a great while extra hot salted caramel mocha! Yum…but have to limit myself. Am I conveying the fact that I like my hot drinks extra hot? 🙂

    • I have a feeling that in the not-too-distant future we’ll be happy to send some of our cold and snow your way! 😉

  6. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 12/02/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

