Friday Fun – Writers Are Grateful For …

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Inspired by last week’s Thanksgiving holiday, we’d like to know what are you most thankful for in your writing life. What experience or event, growth or success, discovery or support has given you the most joy this year?

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: Well, as a writer, this year I have so much to be grateful for. My book contract. My writing friends who have been amazing cheerleaders and supporters throughout this process. The readers of this blog and Wicked Cozy Authors–what a joy it is to connect with these communities. Sisters in Crime. Scrivener. Much to be grateful for, and I am.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: I am grateful for having the means and making the time to take the Grub Street Fiction I class I recently completed. Thanks to our teacher KL Pereira and my fellow students, I came away from my eight classes feeling inspired, energized, and excited about what comes next.

I am also extremely grateful to be part of the Live to Write – Write to Live community of writers and readers. I have had such a wonderful time writing and sharing this year’s “weekend edition” posts. It is truly one of the most treasured parts of my week – putting those posts together and then getting to read all your thoughtful, insightful, and funny comments. It feels like home. Thank you.

Finally, I am thankful for all the small pleasures – bedtime stories with my daughter, the company of my two cats, chocolate-flavored tea, a beautiful view of sky and river outside my desk window … each of these bits of magic in my day and life are what make it all worthwhile.

dll2013Deborah Lee Luskin: Like Jamie, I’m grateful for this community of writers and readers. It’s an honor to write to Live to Write – Write to Live and a privilege to have readers like you. Thank you.

 

 

 

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: hate to sound like a broken record, but as a writer, it’s the writing community for which I am eternally grateful. I have some pretty Kick-a** friends who are keeping me on the straight and sometimes narrow path toward publication. Whenever I say to myself that it can’t be done, I’ll never be where I want to go, there’s always a little bird in my ear whispering, “no worries, you’ve got this, I believe in you.” My writing community asks questions, challenges what I do, and keeps track of my goals. Having someone cheer you on is priceless and I’m fortunate to have so many friends who very freely do just that.

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I’ll say “ditto the above”, but sincerely, this blog has been an immense inspiration to me, giving me a weekly deadline for posts and having you, the readers, commenting and letting me (and all of us) know you’re finding the blog inspirational and useful is something I’m wildly grateful for. I’m also enthusiastically thankful so the variety of writing opportunities that have come to me this year from various avenues – I’ve really learned what I enjoy doing as a business writer. Sisters in Crime and being with a couple hundred mystery authors at New England Crime Bake in November was icing on the year in regard to my fiction writing. I look forward to a lot more writing inspirations to be thankful for in 2015, too!

10 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Writers Are Grateful For …

  1. I am grateful to my mother who despite of poverty fought tooth and nail to keep us in school. I remember when I was about five years old, she taught me to write on mangrove’s leaves using coconut palm leaves midribs as pens. She said it is very important to be able to read and write before starting school.

    I am eternally grateful to comic books. I learned to read by perusing them. Likewise to public libraries which enable me to further enhance my knowledge in reading and gave me opportunities to encountered books which are otherwise out of my range.

    Thank God there are charity shops who sold cheap second hand books for people like me who is a voracious reader but lack the means to support the passion. Reading and writing is like horse and carriage.

    Grateful to those who invented blogging and for wordpress (and the likes) for offering computing platform and courses to further develop people’s writing skills. And not to forget the writing communities which provide support and encouragement.

    I think that is all.

  2. I’m grateful that this blog exists! Also grateful for being bestowed with a need to get my messages across and my voice heard through writing and so I’m grateful towards writing as a gift that I love.

  3. I’m just happy to be inspired to write daily. Thankful for friends who push me to get creative and say what’s on my mind. I’m thankful for my semi-unfinished novel that will one day be on bookshelves somewhere. Happy and thankful for pen and ink!

  4. Yes, lovely question. I’m grateful to my writer’s group, my own blogging community and the loving support of friends and family who honour and respect me as a writer, as well as giving me time and space to write. There is much to be grateful for, for sure!

  5. Great question. Right at this very minute I’m grateful to my five-year old daughter. Last night, she and her sister went for a sleep-over at my cousin’s house, and they are due back late this evening. As I was saying goodbye to them, my five-year old said, ‘Mummy, we won’t be around tomorrow, so you can write all day’. And that’s what I’m doing! What an understanding little girl!

  6. Karin O’Brien: I’m a new writer and am grateful for the support and encouragement from Boston Wine School to get started. I remember as a child I wanted to be a writer but I took other turns down the winding path of Life. I’ve been a nurse for almost 30 years. Finding a new community at the school, I’ve started a blog about psychology of wine on WordPress. I’m so thankful that I was referred to WordPress and now to find helpful sites to follow such as this one.

Leave a Reply

