Happy Holidays

This is the time of year when, despite the busyness, I pause to reflect on what I cherish the most. My relationships are what come to mind: my relationships with my family, my friends, and my communities.

This blog, my fellow bloggers, and especially our readers, have become an important community for me. I feel supported by the writings of the other bloggers and by all the comments I get from readers, and the new blogs and other writings I find through the comments. When I’m with you all, I feel like a real writer. Thank you so much for your support and encouragement.

I hope you are looking back at 2014 and celebrating! Now is not the time for regrets. Now is the time to look back with pride on what you accomplished, in all the different parts of your life. It’s in looking back that we can gain clarity for the year ahead.

  • What are you going to do in 2015?
  • What are you going to do differently?
  • What are you going to stop doing?

We all have different circumstances we live with. What can you do to feel differently about a circumstance that you know isn’t going to change? For example, my current “work day” situation is I have about 2 ½ hours while my son is in school. Rather than seeing this as “not enough time to get anything done,” I have chosen to see it as “plenty of time to get one (important) thing done.” That motivates me to choose my one thing carefully.

  • My one thing might be talking to a client.
  • It might be drafting a couple of blog posts.
  • It might be going to a yoga class or going for a run.
  • It might be working on my short story.

My one thing is never emptying the dishwasher. I can do that later.

While I only have those 2 ½ hours to myself, thinking about it the way I do gives me permission to let go of the small things (all the things I “should” do) and focus on one thing that feels important to me.

What feels important to you as 2014 comes to a close and 2015 is about to begin.

Make room for whatever that is in 2015.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas, a wonderful holiday season and a very Happy New Year!

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD: is a writer, blogger, life coach, and family physician. I’m having a Merry Christmas, enjoying the holidays, and looking forward to the New Year!

26 thoughts on “Happy Holidays

    • Hi K.S. Hernandez,
      Thanks and Happy New Year! My time management skills are a work in progress, but I have had times in my life when I had many, many tasks to do in a day and it always boiled down to: what’s the most important thing I can do right now? That’s always the very next thing to do. (And multitasking doesn’t work!)

      Here’s to a wonderful 2015!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • Thank you for that… prioritizing is key eh? I’ll keep that in mind. I’m the worst multitasker ever. lol

  1. In 2015 I’m going to write a novel.
    I will not let others dictate my life anymore.
    I’m going to stop being scared.

    Happy Holidays! Enjoy the occasion with your friends and loved ones.
    May all your wishes come true.

    • Hi impossiblebebong,
      Love your goals! Good for you! And even if you’re still scared, do what you want to do anyway. I’m still scared, but I do it anyway, if it feels scary-excited, rather than scary-icky, if you know what I mean.

      Happy New Year!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. This was truly inspiring!!! I temd to beat myself up over the number of people who have visited my blog amd read my writing. Amd then I read this amd realize that it has only been 6 months of writing for me and I am still a writer. Thank you for this encouragement. You are inspiring and a truly awesome writer. Keep the good writing going!!

    • Hi rollingblogger,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. We all tend to beat ourselves up, don’t we? Six months of writing is an amazing accomplishment! Keep focusing on what you have done and you’ll stay motivated to keep writing.

      And thank you for the encouragement. I really appreciate it!

      Happy New Year!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi andreablythe,
      I think the process of goal-setting (and goal-reflecting) is helpful, even if the goals change over the year. Best wishes for a wonderful 2015!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  3. The situation which will not change for me is that after working all of this year to move and settle with the shared focus of my wife into the home of our dreams came to be and I had never been happier. We are in a natural land of wonder, she found her perfect job and I have been the #1 fan and supporter. Now all is upside down with her falling for someone else. So I have the joy of 10 months and the shocked despondency of the end of fall and beginnings of winter. She says the home is to be sold. Day to day I pray for the strength to get to the next. Somehow fate is putting me out in the road with no map or set direction. One positive is finding intense focus and resilient strength. My true heart has allowed me to express love and gratitude for what we have had and not for what appears to hopelessly lost. Thankfully I love to write and it has given me a medium to express my feelings both to her and to journal what I am going through some how giving some understanding and sanctuary to chaos

    • Hi kcaptain77,
      Thank you so much for sharing part of your journey with us. Yes, everything can change in an instant and I’m sorry for the losses you are experiencing. I’m so glad you are able to write and express yourself during this difficult time,

      Wishing you all the best in 2015. Keep writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  4. Happy holidays to you. I know you have the courage to be brave and let go of the little things. Focus on whats good and the present, cherish the time that is in front of you which is now… if you don’t have the courage to do it all the time ….remember … i am your sister and i will stand next to you.. I DID IT that’s how i know you can do it too…

    • Hi Abieke,
      Thanks so much for your words of encouragement. I really appreciate them. I know in my heart I CAN do it! Thank you and Happy New Year!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. Pingback: Taking Stock | Live to Write - Write to Live

Leave a Reply

