Taking Stock

I have a love/hate relationship with New Year’s and, especially, New Year’s Eve. The expectations involved with getting dressed up, going out, spending too much, drinking even more–those days are behind me. This year I am planning on spending it alone, surrounded by my different journals, prepping for 2015.

I couldn’t be more thrilled.

Life, and the holidays, have been a blur this year. Plus, I find as I get older, I miss the people who aren’t here any more with a more pronounced ache. I am still one of the luckiest people I know, with a wonderful life. But I need to be mindful of thinking about more actively. I blogged about “Finding Joy” on Wicked Cozy Authors, and that is one of my resolutions. The others are the reasons for the various journals. (BTW, Diane and Wendy had great posts on New Years resolutions.)

Notebooks for the new year!

Clockwise–Plot Perfect notebook for Book #2, new Bullet Journal, Clock Journal for book journey, Passion Planner filler

One is my stop gap until my Passion Planner arrives. Since I donated to her Kickstarter, I got a PFG of 2015. I ordered one anyway, but since it is on backorder, I can start sketching out the first six months of the year. I love the visual of the journal, so that I can literally see my day/week.

Second is my new Bullet Journal. AKA a moleskin with a plan. I started using the system this fall, and I love it. All of my notes and to dos go into it, I can keep them for reference, there is an indexing system, etc. The journal goes with my everywhere. I suspect I will add book notes to it for next year.

Third is a larger notebook I plan to use for plotting Book #2. Book #1 (Just Killing Time) was accepted, and is with the copy editor. In the meantime, I have been plotting out Book #2. I need to weave in the subplots, and add another story that will run through to Book #3. Paula Munier’s Plot Perfect: How to Build Unforgettable Stories Scene By Scene was an early Christmas present to myself. I am finishing it tomorrow, and putting it into play over the weekend.

And lastly–I bought a journal so I can keep track of this year, my first as a published author. Notes for the future, moments I want to remember. It has clocks on it–my protagonist is a clock maker. I figured it was a sign.

That’s a lot, I know. BUT, per Wendy’s suggestion, it will help me with achievable goals. For writing, I have found that having scenes plotted, with goals for each scene, helps tremendously. Seeing what my week looks like, and scheduling in writing, and exercise, and sleep, is critical. Plus the visual is really helpful for keeping some balance, And the Bullet Journal really helps me keep my life in one place.

So those are my plans for tonight. Writing, color coding, plotting, planning. And getting ready for 2015.

Happy New Year dear readers! See you on the other side!

14 thoughts on “Taking Stock

  1. I declined several dinner invitations this year including family gatherings. It’s tiring me too much being with people I have nothing in common with I need at least three weeks to recuperate after. One of my resolutions this year is to stop doing things I don’t like for the sake of keeping the church in the middle. There are some things I won’t compromise anymore. One of them is my peace of mind.

  2. I love your quiet night in – that’s what my husband and I do also – rent a move on Apple TV and have a great dinner. I am finding that with blogging, my handwritten journals are falling by the wayside while my Ampad mini scratch pads are getting filled. What do you do to keep up with your journals?

  3. Dinner and Netflix for me tonight. I love the idea of different journals for your different needs. I’ve always kept a journal of dates, to dos, appointments but will try keeping a separate one for ideas and notes on my writing. Thank you and Happy New Year!

  4. Through a combination of intention and stage of life, I’ve completely removed the New Year’s Eve hype from my radar. It’s now my time to indulge in one final evening with a good book or movie.

    The last couple of years I’ve made a point, in my reflections of the year past, of remembering what has brought me pleasure and mentally tossed the rest in the trash. Not because I don’t learn from what went wrong or what I didn’t accomplish, but because focusing on my positives are what propel me forward into the new year with a sense of wonder, anticipation and encouragement.

    It has turned my love/hate into a time of spirited renewal and a sense of adventure for what lies ahead.

    May your 2015 be a year of progress, growth and satisfaction in your endeavors and relationships. The NHWN blog has rapidly become one of my favorite sites, and I appreciate every one of you who contribute to our writing community 💕

  5. I love your idea of a New Year’s Eve. It’s positive, forward thinking, spiritual and productive. I am a long-time fan of the Filofax; your bullet journal will complement well with what already works for me (for the most part).

    Thank you, and I know you will have a Happy New Year…

  6. Pingback: Getting in the 2015 Groove | Live to Write - Write to Live

Leave a Reply

