Wildly Improbable and Wildly Inspiring Goals for 2015

It’s that time of year again! I love setting goals, and thinking about all the things I want to get done in the next year. I’ve basked in my accomplishments from 2014, reflected on what I didn’t accomplish—and why—and come up with a new list of goals for this brand new blank slate of a year, 2015.

Actually, I’m picturing 2015 as a field of new-fallen snow, with me standing at the edge, dressed warmly and wearing my snowshoes, ready to make tracks across this New Year.

First, I need to ask myself this question: “How do I want to feel about my writing throughout this year?”

I want to feel enthusiastic, motivated, and another feeling I’m having difficulty naming. I want to feel like I do when I start training for a marathon or a half-marathon—like there’s work to be done, but as long as I stay the course, I will get it done and be ready on race day. Confident? Yes, confident.

I want to feel enthusiastic, motivated, and confident about my writing this year.

“What do I need to think in order to feel this way?”

I need to think things like: Slow and steady wins the race, and little and often.

Here are my WIGs for 2015:

  1. Schedule and go on a writing retreat.
  2. Host 2 writing retreats.
  3. Write 250 words 5 days a week.
  4. Write (and post) at least one blog post each week.
  5. Win NaNo (= complete 50,000 words on a novel in November, 2015)
  6. Submit to Level Best books.
  7. Attend Crime Bake.
  8. Complete draft of nonfiction book.
  9. Finish and publish hummingbird book.
  10. Submit to critique group every two weeks and critique others’ work thoughtfully.

These WIGs feel like a stretch, but in a good way. If I only put goals I know I can achieve, I won’t move beyond my comfort zone, which I think is important. I want to learn and grow and see what the year brings when I try new things.

What are your WIGs for 2015?

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon, MD is a a writer, blogger, life coach, family physician, wife, mother, and stepmother. I’m currently goal-setting like crazy, while also starting to chip away at all the goals I’m setting! Like I said, “Slow and steady wins the race!”

 

33 thoughts on “Wildly Improbable and Wildly Inspiring Goals for 2015

  1. I think your plan is a great start to tackle the new year goals. I also like to set goals for myself for the new year. My writing needs much improvement and I look forward to joining a writing group or something similar. I feel my writing needs to be more focused, but my interests are all over the place so I tend to write whatever comes to mind that day. I hope to improve that aspect of it.

    Best of luck to you!

    • Hi Lena,
      I replied to your comment but somehow it showed up as a new comment, so if you scroll down a little, you’ll see my response.

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  2. Hi Lena,
    Thanks for reading and commenting! I agree, I could write about something different each day, and I often do. Having a writing group has been helpful for me as I can focus on one piece with them. I hope you find the writing group of your dreams this year!

    Best of luck with your writing!

    Warmly,
    Diane

  3. Oh my god, can I go on one of your writing retreats? 😛 I joke of course, because I can barely find the spare time to run down the road and get a coffee, but man, I could definitely use a writing retreat. That, or ten more hours in every day. Or the ability to survive without sleep. 😛

    • Hi TraceyLynnTobin,
      I’d love to have you join one of my writing retreats! This next one I’m planning will only be one Saturday. You could take one Saturday to write, couldn’t you? If not with me, then alone, or with your writing buddies? I’m making plans to carve out the time now or it just won’t happen. I hope you find the time, too!

      And yes, I wish I didn’t need as much sleep as I do!

      Good luck with your writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • I can always carve out bits of time for writing, but a full day (yeah, even just a day) is really difficult because of my work. I do fly-in fly-out shift work, which means that I work 12-hour days for 14 days straight. There’s a day of flying on either end of that, and then I have 12 days home with my family. You’d think that I could dedicate one of those 12 days, but then I also have a 4-year-old, so it doesn’t usually work out that way. lol

  4. Wow these goals are really inspiring!
    I think I’ll adopt goals 1 & 3 and add: to enrich the Hubitus blog, launch the Hubitus website with my partners and find a long term writing project for myself, something that will spark my creativity.
    Thanks for the motivation, good luck and enjoy the challenges this year brings.

    • Hi hubitus,
      Thanks for sharing your goals! It’s so inspiring to hear what other writers are doing! And your website looks like a lot of fun!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  5. This has made me reevaluate the writing resolutions and goals I want to achieve on a monthly basis. I didn’t think of adding any WIGs!
    I’m going to have to have a good think about this… I do like the NaNo goal though. I have registered in the past, but never past 20k words.
    Thanks for the push to do more ^_^

    • Hi ShadesofNorth,
      De rien! So glad you enjoyed reading my goals. I’m motivated–I just hope I can stick to it. I know if I keep to my tiny goals, I’ll make the big ones!

      Crime Bake is actually New England Crime Bake, a mystery writers conference in Dedham, MA, that takes place every November. I missed this past year but I’m planning to attend this year. It’s very reasonably priced and the authors and agents who attend are really great! If you Google it you can find out more about it.

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

      • oh wonderful .. thank you for the information about CrimeBake .. sounds like a terrific event to attend .. and a realistic goal to be able to work towards … super. happy new year, 2015. lynne b.

    • Hi derricklisa,
      I’m glad you found us, too! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Best wishes for your writing goals this year!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi impossiblebebong,
      It’s already more likely that you’ll do it, just because you put it out there. Go for it! I learned so much from my first NaNo–most importantly how to shut off the editor and just write!

      Good luck with your writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi Tiare Meegan,
      I have hosted many writing retreats over the years, but last year I booked a conference room in a hotel and did it there, which was really fun. You can do it in your living room if you have the and some (or one) fellow writer to write with. You can be really structured or keep it loose. If you’d like more information, email me at diane@dianemackinnon.com.

      Happy writing!

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi In a maritime world,
      Why not write while at sea? I’ve gotten much better at writing in small snatches of time, like when my son’s in his karate class or when I’m waiting for someone to arrive, as I am now.

      Thanks for reading and commenting! Best wishes with your blog.

      Warmly,
      Diane

    • Hi pattisj,
      Thanks for reading and commenting. I’m trying to stretch myself in many ways, as I can see the progress I’ve made in the areas I’ve challenged myself in the past year. Here’s to moving beyond our comfort zones!

      Warmly,
      Diane

  6. Pingback: Wildly Improbable and Wildly Inspiring Goals for 2016 | Live to Write – Write to Live

Leave a Reply

