Friday Fun: New Year’s Writing Resolutions

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What are three writing resolutions you have for 2015?

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus:  First, to become more comfortable with plotting, and trust the process. Second, to get into a regular writing habit. Maybe even 500 words a day, hopefully first thing in the morning. Third, to start and keep up with a gratitude journal.

.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: As I noted in my last weekend edition, I’m not a big fan of The Resolution. It has always seemed to be a judgmental sort of motivator, a bit hard core for my taste. I do, however, like to pick a word or a theme for the New Year. Last year, my word was “fierce,” a choice that inspired its own private Pinterest board.

pin your own magicFor this year, I’ve chosen a phrase which spoke to me the moment I read it: Believe in your own magic. This simple phrase holds, for me, so much meaning. It is a gentle reminder of how each of us is both unique and worthy in her own way. It is a quiet but insistent call to have faith in that truth. And it is full of the enchanted possibilities that sprawl before us at the beginning of a bright and shiny new collection of 365 whole days.

Happy New Year to you. May your journey be filled with adventure and help you to believe in your own magic.

.
LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson: I just have one at the moment: WRITE! I wasn’t as attentive to my fiction in 2014 as I wanted to be, so I’m renewing my energy for 2015 to get some short stories written and submitted somewhere. ANYwhere.

 

 

photo by M. Shafer

photo by M. Shafer

Write more.  Write better. Write deeper. This includes my new blog, Living in Place; a new novel (no title yet); and a new column (in the works). But are these resolutions or goals? Resolutions invite attempts at perfection – and inevitable failure, whereas goals are achievable and success something that can be measured. So I’ll stick with goals and write my way through the year. Wishing everyone the same.

 

 

Diane MacKinnon, MD, Master Certified Life CoachDiane MacKinnon: I just devoted a whole post to my writing goals for 2015, so I won’t repeat myself here. I think of resolutions as intentions rather than goals so I don’t apply them to each part of my life. A resolution I make every year is to be more present, more in the moment. I think I’ve been able to keep that resolution for the past number of years, but it’s an overarching theme of my life, to stay present, to experience my life as it’s happening, rather than live in my head, so I recommit myself to that resolution every year. Wishing you wonderful adventures in 2015! Happy New Year!

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: I have quite a few goals (not resolutions) for the new year. I’m going to be changing my content focus (I’ll write a post about that soon to explain) which is going to take a bit of work and reflection. I’m determined to get 2 manuscripts out this year using that new focus. (one is already done (but needs to be revised to fit the new direction) and the other is currently in creation.)  I’m also going to work on expanding my magazine writing (based on my new focus) and will actively seek new assignments. I have always wanted to try travel writing and so I might write a piece or two on a trip in the coming year. Lastly, I’m going to continue teaching college classes on Technical Writing and Blogging.

Best wishes to all our readers with your writing this coming year. Remember, the best way to accomplish your goals is to simply put your butt in a chair.

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fun: New Year’s Writing Resolutions

  1. Best of luck to you lovey ladies and every one else who has set resolutions (or goals!) to achieve by the end of the year! Our hands my ache by the end, but we will have created much to be proud of!

  2. Wonderful advice. When asked if I had any resolutions, my response was that I won’t even waste my time setting myself up for failure and disappointment.

  3. As I read through these posts, I was reminded of my old kitchen in Ohio and the words, “Live in the moment” that were painted on the wall by my son when he was a teenager. I loved looking up at that quote and repeating it back to myself. It was a constant reset that I needed to slow down and remember that each moment has significance. I struggle with the idea of living in the moment and not ticking off the boxes that I create to guide my every movement, knowing that if I check off another box, I am closer to achieving that out of reach feeling of accomplishment. So, as a nod to my kitchen past, I am going to vow that I will not create a list or a set of goals, I will simply live each day appreciating the significance of that moment.

  4. Pingback: Weekend Edition – Be Your Own (Writing) Idol Plus Good Reads and Writing Tips | Live to Write - Write to Live

Leave a Reply

