Getting in the 2015 Groove

In December, I talked about “Taking Stock“, and my plans for the new year.  Since this is my first post in this new year, I thought I’d touch base with how it is all going, and a few other random thoughts about 2015.

If you are going to write a book this year, read Paula Munier’s Plot Perfect. My pile of 75 scene cards are sitting beside me, waiting for another sort before I put them into Scrivener. I’ve written about dramatic structure before, but this book adds to that understanding, and helps you think through your story, including subplots and narrative arcs.

Keeping up with a journal is a challenge for me, but I really wanted to so I could track this year in my writing life. A friend passed on a suggestion that I love. Write five lines about your book (or your writing) every day. I’m adding that to my other journaling goal of writing three things I am grateful for, and therefore tracking this journey. I’ve never been good at keeping up with journaling, but 8 lines a day is doable for me.

My Passion Planner is on back order (hopefully it will arrive next week), but I’ve downloaded the blanks and am using it. I love the system so far. It is all about turning passion into action.

I have renewed my memberships to Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime New England, the Guppies, and Sisters in Crime. I have signed up for Malice Domestic, and Bouchercon. And, of course, I’ll be at Crime Bake. I am looking forward to taking a few workshops over the course of the year. This is all the professional part of being a mystery writer, but I’ve been doing most of them for years. If you are working in a particular field, or are interested in a specific genre, find a group and join it. Community has made all the difference for me, and it will for you too.

My friend Liz Mugavero wrote a great post this week about being “Lucky“.  Reframing the “I’m too busy” to “how great is this life?”. I echo her sentiment. How did I get so lucky? I’m not sure, but I am grateful that I did.

Happy 2015, dear readers. And happy writing!

******

J.A. Hennrikus writes short stories. Julianne Holmes writes the Clock Shop Mystery Series. They look alike.

10 thoughts on “Getting in the 2015 Groove

  1. Being extremely new at all of this, I am still exploring archives of past posts and all the valuable content here. Stumbling upon this post this morning made my day by validating some of my choices for 2015 so far such as using the Passion Planner (pdf blanks) and joining groups to support my writing interests. Thanks for the support, albeit anonymously.

  2. Hmmmm…. I’m struggling a bit to get my writing underway as the new year begins and other things are impacting my thinking. I like the idea of five lines a day… Totally doable. Thank you for sharing! I’ve copied your post over to Word and printing it out to put above my desk – to help keep me on track. I’d love to attend a writing event or two this year… 🙂 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

