Friday Fun — What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: What is the hardest part of writing for you?

wendy-shotWendy Thomas: Hands down it’s finding the time to write. Just when I had thought I was getting into a clear routine with my writing, I now find that my writing day ends at 2:30 when I start picking up kids from school, taking kids to places, and getting dinner on the table. Sometimes I get an hour or two at night to work on pieces that have deadlines, but to be honest, it’s horribly frustrating. I’m at a point in my life where I could easily write for days on end, (in fact, I’m even starting to make preliminary plans to build a small writer’s cabin) but instead I am finding myself back to grabbing an hour here and hour there in between the family’s needs.

I had thought I was past this part of my life, but such is the life of a writer who also happens to be a parent.

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: Time is an issue, but that isn’t my only issue. I struggle with the slog of getting through the first draft of a novel. When it works, it is great. But a lot of the time it is just painful. Pulling words out of you, getting them into the computer, and not getting obsessed with fixing them yet, until the draft is done. It is a long, slow process. And since I need to find time to write, I tend to do it in spurts. Long, painful  spurts.

12 thoughts on “Friday Fun — What is the hardest part of writing for you?

  1. For me, the hardest part about writing is accepting that sometimes it’s just not gonna be that great. I can see it in my stats when I post something that is personal and emotionally vulnerable vs. when I post something that is useful information, and maybe even good writing, but doesn’t knock anyone’s socks off. By the end of drafting a post, I want to feel like I’m going to blow some minds, and it’s hard to accept that I can’t do that every week.

    Other than that, I suppose getting started. I’m a big procrastinator and it’s something I’m working actively to get past.

  2. Yep, it’s pulling out the first completed draft that gets me, too. Trudging past the fact that the words on the paper or word doc don’t match the epicness in my mind, and THAT’S OKAY. Then there are times when I’m like Spongebob. That episode where he has to write an essay, thinking he’s whipping out gold, only to find he’s written one filthy word. 😀 :’-(

  3. Karli, I agree completely. I want all my writing to be mind-blowing and emotionally riveting, and of course it often just….isn’t.

    I can also find it hard to get rid of passages that simply don’t work or are nothing more than excess verbiage, usually because I’ve taken a strange liking to a phrase or idea. Sometimes I realize that I’ve become fixated on the words themselves and they’ve completely taken over. Then I know it’s time to rein in and start hitting the DELETE button.

    Even so, knowing is one thing. Doing, however, can sometimes be a completely different kettle of fish!

  4. I tend to wake while it is still dark. Silently grab my note pad and let ideas, dreams, poems, character sketches be born into the new day. When I am relaxed, comfortable, still hunkered down under warm covers, poised and ready to write, I know I will possibly interupted.
    I write through the twilight of dawn, letting my written words rest when the sun peaks it’s bald head above the horizon.
    The hardest part of writing freely is when I am in the groove and my partner pinches my nose, or I am grasped into an unwanted snuggle. To get up out of my comfy twilight zone to write somewhere private would snap my umbilical cord of relaxed creativity.
    No means of agreement has come to my morning passion to write in bed. So the struggle continues.

  5. Definitely the motivation to write. I like the story, I like the characters, it’s the motivation to continue. I come home from work, and I don’t want to do anything because I’m so tired. I just want to read or chill, and yet I have so much writing to do. I’m hoping to change that soon.

Leave a Reply

