Friday Fun – Do you have a seasonal writing slump?

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: I was talking with some fellow writers this week about a feeling general feeling of apathy and exhaustion that’s been creeping into our bones recently. Wondering if anyone else is feeling this way and if you think it’s related to this season of winter. 

hennrikus-web2Julie Hennrikus: Well, I have a May 15 deadline, which helps motivate me. I’ve got the book plotted, and have a daily “write this scene” goal. But honestly, if I didn’t have the deadline, I would totally give into eating cookies and reading. Lack of light, cold, layers of clothes, tough commutes–they all add up to blech. Blech does not help creative juices flow IMHO.

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: There are many things I appreciate about winter in New England – achingly blue skies, pristine snow fields, piercingly bright stars in the clear, cold night. I love the way winter’s fresh air invigorates body and soul, and the way the shorter days and tempestuous weather invite us to indulge in cozy pleasures. But, despite these joys, there are many things I dread about the season between the winter solstice and spring equinox. Though winter holds sparkling moments, those treasures are often all but lost amidst the gray expanse of days that seem to linger much longer than possible. I do have moments of wanting to just call it a day, curl up on the couch under a blanket, and let the rest of the world spin away without me. I also think that the solitude and quiet of winter invite reflection, and sometimes we are not content with what we discover. We find ourselves questioning our actions and choices and purpose. This may be uncomfortable and even disheartening, but I think it’s an important part of our creative process and our creative lives. So, even though it makes me cranky, I try to accept and even embrace this season for the gifts of insight it can bring.

photo by M. Shafer

photo by M. Shafer

Deborah Lee Luskin: I do sometimes experience “apathy and exhaustion in my bones,” but usually the last three weeks of December, when the world is so dark. Holiday candles and celebrations help me through that time of year, but I get tired of them, too, and greet January with joy. I love winter, even when it’s gray and especially when it’s white. Skiing, snow-shoeing, ice skating, sledding – I love it all. I get outside as much as I can, even if it’s just to shovel and bring in wood.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Do you have a seasonal writing slump?

  1. Honestly, I can get in a writing slump any season. But deadlines and a certain yearning inside eventually kick me out of those non-writing slumps. Reading a good book sometimes helps keep me in the world of writing. Thanks for the question–good one!

  2. sometimes, but not always – often summer can be difficult as the attractions of being outside are greater than want to be at the keyboard. I’ve often told people that I thought writing was a winter sport.

  3. Actually, everyone will have their writing slump ( or you call it writer’s block) while actually got bored about what they were doing. I feel that it doesn’t have link with Winter. All you have to think about is writing makes your heart warm, so you can carry on writing without slump. Or you can do body exercises to stimulate your brain such as workouts to get off your writing and use the time to get your kicks to continue the story that you are currently writing.

  4. Actually I also love writing in my room with my candles and lights on in the winter. I love being cozy when the weather is wild outside and it also means I can write about snow which I adore. I am a winter lover and don’t suffer from SAD but I do suffer from a slump about once a month and I just need to ride through it. Although I haven’t had one this month! Good question.

Leave a Reply

