Tell Me A Story

January and February in New England always make me rethink my life choices. Why do I live here, anyway? Sure, I like the people. The sense of humor, and wit. Mountains, lakes, oceans, all within hours of each other. Nine months of the year, the good outweighs the bad. But then we get over 6 feet of snow in two weeks, bone chilling cold, and a wicked stomach flu making the rounds, and warmer climates call to me.

But I cannot heed their call. Instead, New Englander that I am, I burrow in. And complain.

I also long for stories. Long complicated yarns. Not too depressing, because that would be redundant given the season. I don’t do gruesome well. Scary is out–sleep is too precious a commodity. Since I am writing my own book, reading is a little less enjoyable. I spend too much time dissecting craft.

These days I am multi-tasking, working on a website while watching TV. Happily, thanks to the advent of Netflix and Amazon Prime, I have been able to involve myself in wonderful stories. Some of my favorite discoveries in the past few months:

On the Wicked Cozy Authors blog, I wrote about the wonders of the worlds of Marvel. Anyone else watching Agent Carter? Looking forward to Avengers? Counting down the days till Agents of Shield comes back?

How about Arrow or The Flash?

I know, I know, I don’t seem like a superhero kind of gal, but I’m not sure there are better story arcs anywhere.

Then there’s Downton Abbey. I’ll confess, it is on my DVR, but it isn’t must see TV for me this season. I’ll binge watch them later.

Another period piece that I loved–Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries.

I can watch old series, but love discovering new ones. Any suggestions?

Two more storms are due in the next five days.

And I love a good story.

************

J.A. Hennrikus writes short stories. Julianne Holmes writes the Clock Shop Mystery series. They look alike.

14 thoughts on “Tell Me A Story

  1. Love Arrow!! Great show 😀 Might I suggest “The 100”? It also is on the CW alongside Arrow and The Flash. The first season is available on Netflix and the second season is currently airing on the CW.

  2. No, no to comic heroes. I like scary. the more scarier the better. But not horror kind of scary like Saw or anything with too much blood. I like more psychological scary like Rosemary’s Baby or Criminal Minds and all those CSI series.

  3. My kids and I watch all the superhero shows. Love Arrow and Agent Carter.

    Recommendation: watch Call to Midwife. First three seasons are available on Netflix. Fourth season airs on PBS 3/29. Excellent.

    Also, Mad Men, Breaking Bad, The Fall, Happy Valley, something Hallifax.

  4. You like long, complicated yarns? Oy veh, that’s my life! Not pointing fingers, just telling you what it is.

    Yet, I’m spooling it all out for the world to enjoy. One story at a time. Come visit me, Finnegan Daley, and you tell me which story you want to hear. Oh yeah, and sorry about all that snow. Major bummer.

  5. Living in the Northeast I’d like to complain about the snow and the new storm heading our way too, but I won’t. 🙂 I never watched much TV until I subscribed to Netflix. Bad move! I’ve binge watched Orange is the New Black, House of Cards and Arrested Development. Have also checked out some other series I missed when they first came out. I should do less Netflix and more story writing! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

