Scrivener

I am so excited.

scrivener-512On Saturday, I am going to a full day Scrivener workshop taught by Gwen Hernandez. Gwen wrote “Scrivener for Dummies”, and teaches online classes. I’ve availed myself of both, but now am thrilled that I will be able to take a workshop with her. (There’s still some room, the class is in Burlington, MA, sign up info here.) I’m a fan girl.

What, I hear a few of you ask, is Scrivener? I’m glad you asked.

Scrivener is a great writing tool, developed by Literature and Latte. You can use it many different ways. For a plotter like me, I can create scene cards that are just like the index cards I create during my plotting process. I recreated them in Scrivener, and then lay them out. I can set up targets and goals for the entire manuscript, or for each day. I can use both to track my progress.

If I need to move a scene, I literally do just that, I move the card and everything associated with it goes with it. It is also really helpful that each scene card has the goals that stay in the upper right corner. Again, I am a plotter, so this really works for me. But even for a pantser, you can use the scene cards as reminders as you move forward.

I can also add research, character notes, place names, and other details I need in order to keep moving forward. All of that information is readily at hand, on the left hand side of the screen. Let me tell you, when you are on a roll, and you don’t remember Aunt Flo’s last name, this is worth the cost of the software. (Which is $40.)

I realize this makes the whole program sound complicated. There is a learning curve. BUT, it is worth it. And Gwen’s book and classes are really helpful.

I can’t wait to learn more tips and tricks on Saturday. I’ll report back. In the meantime, who uses Scrivener? Any great tips to pass on? Any questions you want me to ask?

19 thoughts on “Scrivener

  1. i also adore scrivener i did the tutorial that comes with it, and that was great, but obviously i have now forgotten all the fab tricks it has. would love to read your notes after it 🙂

  2. I use Scrivener and it’s the first piece of writing software I’ve ever found that actually lives up to the hype. There are a bunch of tutorials on YouTube, too, that I’ve found helpful.

  3. Sounds great. I am learning my craft and think this would be great to experiment with. I am thinking of the film ‘Sliding Doors’. Would have been a great tool. I’ll look out for your notes. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I used the trial version for NaNoWriMo and loved it. I need to buy it, but I’m trying to figure out what computer to put it on. Ha. I loved the cork board notes option, the ease of rearranging items, and notes you can keep, all in one place.

  5. Do you call your program Bartleby? I suppose it was inevitable this would come up. Blame Melville and college lit classes.

    It sounds ideal, actually. I still use word and excel to do what I need. I’m like the old guy shaking his fist and saying, “You kids get off my word processor!”

  6. I am using scrivener for the first time and have discovered, with its help, that I love plotting out a writing project. I find it fairly simple and straight forward to use, although I’m sure that there is much that I don’t use.

  7. Pingback: FRIDAY FUN: Writer Tools We Love | Live to Write - Write to Live

  8. Would you like to write something and it could melt your heart goreshto.to love my needs and will gladly her priznae.Taka be submitted two hands and warmed two lonely duck.

Leave a Reply

