Creating images for blogs and other social media sites

033015_imageOver the weekend I learned a new skill: creating a header image for an organization’s website.

I was intimidated, nervous, and wondered if there was enough time left in that day to actually accomplish the task at hand.

Canva.com has been mentioned as a resource on this blog in the past few months. Deborah’s post lists several resources for culling free images, and Julie’s post mentions canva in passing as something she uses quite a bit.

As I was in need of the image for the mystery writer’s group I belong to with Julie, she’d mentioned canva.com to me a few times and said it was easy to use.

I couldn’t put the task off any longer, so I clicked on over to canva.com and found I could log in with a Google account. I liked not having to create an account. Ahh!

And then I was ready to go.

First up is to select the type of image to create – one for a Facebook post, Facebook cover, presentation, poster, and so on. I needed one to use as a website header, so chose Use custom dimensions, entered the dimensions and entered a new screen.

I was ready to create my header image. There is a keyword search box to get you started, and also a super short but informational tutorial to get the not-yet-designer up to speed.

I played around with layouts, different text, and backgrounds. It really was easy to move back and forth and play with colors, styles, and images.

I personally like playing with different text layouts and fonts – those are word-related. Visuals are challenging, but this site gives me hope that I can create images when I need them.

Once done creating an image there are options to download, share through social media, and save.

The image included above isn’t going to win any awards, but I created it in less than 3 minutes. It’s two images in one — and I needed some color today. Winter may be over, but spring colors have yet to start appearing outside my window yet! Browns and dirty white isn’t all that appealing.

This is the first image I created:

Heroes, Villians, and Sidekicks

*Not all images are free on the site, but if there’s a fee ($1), it’s noted on the image.

I’m not endorsing this site, simply sharing my experience. It was worthwhile to me to use, and I plan to continue using it (I bet I can create something without green in it, too!) — as it keeps the process of designing images simple and gives me what I need.

What do you use to create visuals for you social media accounts?

LisaJJackson_2014Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She loves researching topics, interviewing experts, and helping companies tell their stories. You can connect with Lisa on TwitterFacebookGoogle+, and LinkedIn.

23 thoughts on “Creating images for blogs and other social media sites

  1. This is pretty funny, as I just started learning Canva a couple of days ago. I need to design an ebook cover, and I noticed that isn’t an option along with poster, FB post, Twitter post, etc. So, I considered using the customized option, but I was foiled by “use custom dimensions.” How do you know what dimensions to enter???

  2. A picture is worth a thousand words. I have wanted to create graphics for my blog for a while, but it has always been a bit of struggle for time using photo shop and drawing my own images. Canva has been a great resource to produce some simple graphic items.

  3. Pingback: Creating images for blogs and other social media sites | Sarah's Attic Of Treasures

  4. Will definitely check this out as I’ve been doing my own ‘quotes’ the old fashioned way often resulting in using up lots of computer storage space as well as creative time. (ie word to pdf to jpeg/pdn then uploading to the blog) (yes, I’m a dinosaur, but I’m learning new tricks!)
    😀

  5. I tend to go for first principles. When I do have an image I’ve usually taken the photo myself and edited in GIMP (free Photoshop equivalent), including adding text and merging two or more images if necessary. It might be less efficient these days with all those online tools such as the one your featured here, but I enjoy the process.

Leave a Reply

