The Most Important Page on Your Author Website (Plus a Chance at a Freebie Consultation)

all about me notHello, there.

How are you? Good? Good.

I’d like to talk with you for a minute about what is probably the most important page on your writer/author website: The About Page.

The About Page may seem like a fairly run-of-the-mill page, but it’s statistically one of the most frequently visited pages on a site. No matter where people enter your site (your home page, a blog post, your books page, etc.) there’s a pretty good chance that they will also take a look at your About Page. Is your About Page doing its job?

A while back, I wrote a post for my marketing blog: How to Write an About Page – 5 Steps to Get It Right. The post is a bit of a rant, but I prefer to think of it as a loving intervention. In it, I explain – in detail and with common mistakes & solutions – the 5 steps that will ensure you’ve got a great About Page that helps you catch and hold the interest of your site visitor, convey the value of what you do (to them), and – bonus points! – get them to take one step closer to being an actual reader.

The 5 Steps I review in the post are:

  1. Remember that it’s never about you
  2. Include all the important information
  3. Make it personal
  4. Make it visual
  5. Show ’em what’s next

I hope you’ll check out How to Write an About Page – 5 Steps to Get It Right. And, I hope it helps you make your About Page a real workhorse.

[AUTHOR UPDATE]: Please note that as of Saturday, April 4th at ten AM EST, I am considering comment entries for the free About Page consultation closed. Please feel free to leave a comment if you like, but please note that I will be selecting the two winners from those folks who have already left a comment. Thanks! 

In fact, I’m so revved up about improving the world one About Page at a time that I’d like to offer two readers a free About Page consultation.

If you think your About Page could use some help, and you’re willing to let me publish a “Before & After” here on Live to Write – Write to Live, let me know in the comments (and include a link to your website!). I’ll pick two winners, and get in touch via email. Then, over the next few weeks, we’ll work together to give your About Page a bit of a makeover.

You in?

Excellent.

Talk to you soon. Now, go check out that post! 🙂

.
Jamie Lee Wallace Hi. I’m Jamie. I am a content marketer and branding consultant, columnist, sometime feature writer, prolific blogger, and aspiring fiction writer. I’m a mom, a student of equestrian and aerial arts (not at the same time), and a nature lover. I believe in small kindnesses, daily chocolate, and happy endings. Join me each Saturday for the Weekend Edition (a fun post and great community of commenters on the writing life, random musings, writing tips, and good reads), or introduce yourself on Facebooktwitter, Instagram, or Pinterest. I don’t bite … usually.
.

Image Credit: Mark Falardeau

33 thoughts on “The Most Important Page on Your Author Website (Plus a Chance at a Freebie Consultation)

  1. Hi Jamie, I’m willing to have you publish a before and after of my about page. My website is writer8services.wordpress.com Thanks for the opportunity for a free consultation!

  2. Jamie, how generous of you to guve your valuable time and knowledge. I have been meaning to re-do my ‘about’ page and your 5 steps will give me guidance. I won’t submit my site for your consultation, only because there are other bloggers who are trying to become published or develop readership for financial reasons, and I’d rather they receive your help. I do look forward to the ‘before’ and ‘afters’.

  3. You are right about that page. I always check out a “new” person who comments/a new blogger by their About Page. Can determine whether I follow them or not or plan return visits.
    Your offer is very generous. I’ll stand back so someone trying to get published or promote their serious writing gets a chance a a make-over. WIll be interested to see the results

  4. Hi Jamie. I really enjoy your blog. I read your 5 tips in your article. The readership of my webpage is mostly readers (kids of various ages), teachers, librarians and publishers. I spent a lot of time creating my About Me page last year and my new website: http://www.annelaurelcarter.com. If you think it needs improving I am keen to learn – please do.
    Thanks for taking the time to do this and your regular postings, Anne

  5. My about page violates just about all your rules and opens with the line, “This is a little blog about stuff. My stuff. Not your stuff.” If you have five minutes you don’t need back, read the whole weirdness at: http://andrewsviewoftheweek.com/about/

    However, if I was going to build an author’s about page, yours is the advice I’d follow. You’ve got a lot of good suggestions there.

  6. Hi Jamie, this post is extremely useful to me as a new author. I am trying to build the tension and gain as many followers as I can in preparation for the release of my first novel. I would love you to take a look at my blog. My about page could definitely do with some TLC! Hopefully hear from you soon! You can find me at http://www.markdraycott.com
    Thanks Jamie.

  7. Wow, I’ve never thought about it that way. I knew the ‘About Me’ was important but never really went any further than an honest introduction. Then again, I am not selling a business, only sharing my thoughts and words. Would love a critique either way, maybe luck will be on my side! My website is http://www.writerscaravan.com

  8. Hi Jamie, I’m excited to hear your going to be focusing on About Pages. I’m revamping my blog, because I’m moving and am in a quandary about what to do about my about page. I hope you’ll consider me for your offer. http://vsvevg.com
    I look forward to your next posts of advice, peace Abby

  9. Hey Jamie! Thank you for the great tips. I have a personal blog that I would like to possibly use as a platform for my writing. My question is since the posts are a random assortment of stories from my life and not very professional is it better to start a new website and rebrand? Or is there a way to rebrand the existing website via updating the About page?

    http://www.lbonics.com

  10. Hi Jamie, thank you for providing guidelines for writing an about page – I will be reading it as soon as I finish posting this.

    My site is
    https://educater.wordpress.com/
    and I am so hoping that it is one of the two selected for a free consultation on the about page.

    Looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks again.

  11. Just read your post on the about page, the one you recommended. It was just what I needed to read before I set up my original about page. Oh well better late than never. Thank you Jamie.

  12. Thanks for providing the link back. I would not have seen it otherwise. Great info and inspiring About Page yourself! I feel some tweaks of my own page coming soon!
    Thanks!

  13. Great information here and certainly enough to make all of us question our own pages. I’m not sure if I’m too late, but I wouldn’t mind being entered. 🙂

  14. Hi Jamie, My name is Sandy and I’m new at this writing thing. Actually, I’ve been writing for a lot of years but not sharing. I’m sure my “About” page could use help. It must not be very memorable because as I write this, I can’t even think of what I said on there. I’ll just bet there are a lot of I’s though What the heck is a branding consultant anyway? I too am a mom. I’m also a gramma, dog lover (actually all animals, with horses being right up there on top of the list too), a photographer, and a collector. My hope is to bring a little humor, to inspire feelings, to share experiences as learning tools, and to just share for pleasurable reading some of my life stories and memories. If I can brighten someone’s day or let them know they are not alone in what they are going through, I will be happy. I do, for my own satisfaction and knowledge, want to learn more about the writing experience as I go and become better at my chosen field. I am very simplistic in what I write and have put together a book of poems and short stories that I’d love to have published someday, when I actually figure out what I’m doing.
    Thank you for your article and this chance to be chosen to have my “About” page considered for revision.
    You can read me at sandyssmorgasbord.wordpress.com Whoops, I just read back over your post before posting mine and I see I’m too late for the before and after. I hope you will consider reading a few of my things anyway and leave a comment or two on how I’m doing. Thanks again,
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

